Frequently Asked Questions - School Security Guard
- Who must be trained?
All security guards or school security officers employed by a school district more than 20 hours per week must complete SB 1626 training (Business and Professions Code §7583.6 (a & b) & §7583.45). (All remaining references to code sections are to the Business and Profession Code, unless specifically stated otherwise).
- What training is required by SB 1626 and when must it be completed by?
The bill requires completion of a training course developed by BSIS in consultation with the Commission on Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST). The developed curriculum consists of a 24 hour training course.
- How can I obtain a copy of the approved training curriculum?
The curriculum can be obtained via the Internet at www.bsis.ca.gov/industries_regulated/syllabus.shtml.
- Who is authorized to teach the required course? Can school districts teach the
SB 1626 does not establish criteria for instructors of the course. Any person designated by the local education agency (LEA) may teach the course. It is recommended that school districts use POST-certified instructors or trainers from local law enforcement academies and police agencies.
- What regulatory authority does the California Department of Consumer Affairs' BSIS
and the California Department of Education have with respect to SB 1626?
The BSIS regulates Private Patrol Operators (PPO's) and security guards who are employed by PPO's. PPO's contract to provide security to persons and property. LEA’s may contract with a PPO to provide security to students. Employees of LEA’s who provide security to students, are not regulated by BSIS. However, all security guards employed by a PPO who contract with LEA’s to provide security to students, and all security officers employed by LEA’s who provides security to students, must complete a course of training mandated by SB 1626, (Chapter 745, Statutes of 1998), if the security guard or officer works more than 20 hours per week performing the function of school security. These functions are defined as: providing security services as a watchperson, security guard, or patrolperson, on or about premises owned or operated by a school district to protect persons or property, to prevent theft or unlawful taking of district property of any kind, or to report any unlawful activity to the district and local law enforcement agencies (Education Code Section 38001.5 (c)).
- What administrative records, if any, must be kept by school districts in order to
comply with SB 1626?
SB 1626 does not mandate what records must be kept. We recommend that LEA’s keep a record of which employees complete the course, the course date, the name of the instructor, and that a record of course completion be given to the attendee.
- Are school districts required to issue certificates to district security personnel
who take and complete the training?
No, but as discussed above, this is recommended for record-keeping purposes.
- Does SB 1626 provide funding for districts to train their personnel?
SB 1626 does not provide funding for school districts to pay for training.
- What funds are available to school districts to pay for SB 1626 training, since
the bill does not provide funds to pay for it?
AB 1113 School Safety Block Grant funds may be used to pay for the mandated training provided the school district determines that this purpose would "materially contribute to meeting the goals and objectives of current law in providing for safe schools and preventing violence among pupils."
Title IV Safe and Drug Free Schools and Communities Act funds may be used by a school district to support the training so long as the training is part of the school district's comprehensive approach to school safety and the dollar amount does not exceed 20 percent of the district's Title IV allocation, including other Title IV budgeted security items such as security cameras, fencing, etc.
- Is compliance with SB 1626 requirements a mandated cost that can be recovered by
districts via petitioning the Commission on State Mandates for payment?
The matter would have to be decided by the Commission and such matters are considered on a case by case basis.
- Are school district security personnel who provide school security required by SB
1626 to meet the same training requirements as guards who provide school security and
are employed by PPO's?
Yes. It is the responsibility of LEA’s to assure that its "school security officer" employees as defined by Education Code Section 38001.5 (c) receive the training.
- Does SB 1626 identify a state agency responsible to assure compliance?
No. SB 1626 does not identify a specific state agency responsible to assure compliance.
- Does SB 1626 provide sanctions for non-compliance?
SB 1626 does not establish sanctions for non-compliance. However, failure to comply may subject the district to increased liability should a student be harmed.
- Is there an approved training course outline that must be used in order for the
training to meet SB 1626 requirements? If so, how can it be accessed?
Yes. The curriculum is currently on the web at www.bsis.ca.gov/industries_regulated/syllabus.shtml.
- Are school districts required to use the SB 1626 training curriculum to provide
the training course?
- Does SB 1626 require special training facilities be used to conduct the training?
No. The LEA's has total responsibility and authority to determine who conducts the required course and how it is taught.
- Who are state level contact persons for those requiring additional information on
the SB 1626 requirements?
The Department of Education contact is Stephanie Pappas (916) 445-8441 and the BSIS contact is Noreene DeKoning (916) 575-7054.
- Are SB 1626 training requirements for school security officers in addition to
fingerprint and background check requirements that all school employees must satisfy
prior to employment by school districts?
- Is there an approved state-certified training vendor that school districts may
hire to provide required SB 1626 training?
No. LEA's have total responsibility and authority to determine who teaches the course.
- Does SB 1626 apply to County Offices of Education?
County Offices of Education who employ security officers working more than 20 hours per week on their campuses as defined in Education Code Section 38001.5(c) must meet the training requirements for security officers stated in SB 1626 (§7583.6 (a & b) & §7583.45).