BUREAU OF SECURITY AND INVESTIGATIVE SERVICES

SECURITY GUARD
FACT SHEET

Requirements for Reqgistration

Security guards are employed by licensed private patrol operators or private security employers to
protect persons or property or prevent theft as defined in Business and Professions Code (BPC)
Section 7582.1. To be eligible to apply for a security guard registration through the Bureau of Security
and Investigative Service (BSIS or Bureau), you must:

= Be atleast 18 years old (BPC Section 7582.8)

= Undergo a criminal history background check through the California Department of Justice
(DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (BPC Sections 7581 and 7583.9) and

= Complete the Power to Arrest training (see “Training Requirements” below)

Fees (Title 16, California Code of Regulations (CCR) Section 640)

Initial Application Fee: $50.00
Renewal Fee: $35.00

Criminal History Background Check/Live Scan

Applicants for a BSIS Security Guard Registration must undergo a criminal history background check
through the FBI and DOJ. Applicants should use the Security Guard Request for Live Scan Form
available on the Bureau’s website as it contains the correct coding needed to ensure the Bureau
receives the information in a timely manner. Applicants are responsible for paying all Live Scan,
DOJ and FBI processing fees at the time of fingerprinting. A list of Live Scan locations can be
found on the Bureau’s website.

Training Requirements

= The power to arrest training must be completed prior to the issuance of a Security Guard
Registration (BPC Sections 7583.6 and 7583.8).

= The thirty-two (32) hours of training in security officer skills must be completed within the first six
(6) months of licensure.

= Eight (8) hours of continuing training must be completed annually (BPC 7583.6 and CCR 643).

= The training may be administered by the guard’s employing private patrol operator or by a
Bureau-approved course provider.

BSIS Advises: All registered security guards should maintain their own documented proof of
completion of their training. Employers are required to maintain records for a minimum of two
years; however registrants may need to provide subsequent employers or BSIS with training
records. As a result BSIS recommends that registrants maintain copies of all of their own
training records.


http://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms_pubs/livescan/g.pdf
http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php

Application Processing

Online Application

Applicants may apply for security guard registration online via the Bureau’s website.

Paper Application

Applicants may submit their completed security guard application, $50 application fee and completed
Live Scan form containing the signature of the Live Scan operator and Automated Transaction
Identifier (ATI) number or classifiable fingerprint cards to:

Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
P.O. Box 989002
West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002

Verification of Security Guard Reqgistration

Please allow approximately 4-6 weeks for applications to be processed. Processing times may be
longer depending on the time it takes for the Bureau to receive responses from the DOJ and FBI and
make the necessary determinations required by law. Once the Bureau has processed the application
and issued the registration, the applicant’s security guard registration will be available to view on the
"Verify a License" page on the Bureau’s website.

A security guard must possess a valid and current security guard registration card on his or her person
while on-duty (BPC Section 7583.3); however a person may work as a security guard pending receipt
of their hard-copy security guard registration card if he or she has been approved by the Bureau and
carries on his or her person a hardcopy printout of the Bureau’s approval from the Bureau’s website
and valid picture identification (BPC Section 7583.17). Registrants should receive their registration
card via US Mail within approximately 3 weeks from the time the Bureau issues the registration.

Firearms Permit

Please see the Bureau’s “Firearms Permit Fact Sheet.”

Tear Gas Permit

BPC Section 7583.35 requires all licensees or registrants wishing to carry tear gas while on duty to
complete a training course pursuant to Penal Code Section 22835. Some Bureau-approved training
facilities may provide tear gas training. For information on Bureau-approved training facilities, visit
the “Verify a License” page available on the Bureau’s website. You should contact the facility to
confirm whether it provides the training before showing up.

Baton Permit

BPC Section 7583.33 requires anyone who carries a baton while on duty to be a registered security
guard and to complete a baton training course from a Bureau-approved Baton Training Facility. For
information on Bureau-approved training facilities, visit the “Verify a License” page available on the

Bureau’s website.

Guard Registration Renewal

It is important that guard registrants keep a current and valid address on file with the Bureau at all
times to help ensure they receive their renewal notices. The Bureau automatically mails a registrant


https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/loginCADCA.do
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/selSearchTypeCADCA.do?from=loginPage
http://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms_pubs/fire_fact.shtml
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/selSearchTypeCADCA.do?from=loginPage
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/selSearchTypeCADCA.do?from=loginPage

his/her registration renewal form approximately 90 days before the registration is set to expire to their
address of record. By law, a registrant must submit the completed renewal application or coupon at
least 60 days prior to expiration to provide the Bureau sufficient time to process the renewal. If a
guard does not receive the Bureau-issued renewal coupon, he/she can also submit a completed
Security Guard Renewal Application, available on the Bureau’s website.

NOTE: Guard Registrations not renewed within 60 days of expiration are canceled and cannot be
renewed (BPC Section 7583.20). If you fail to submit your renewal application, regardless of whether
or not the Bureau sends you a renewal application, including payment of all required fees, before the
60th day after your registration expires, your registration will be canceled and you will have to apply
for a new guard registration. Submission of a renewal application after the registration expires, but
before the 60 days has lapsed, requires the payment of a delinquency fee of $25.00 in addition to the
renewal fee of $35.00.

Additional information can be found on the Bureau’s website at www.bsis.ca.gov.
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http:www.bsis.ca.gov
http://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms_pubs/renapp_sec.pdf

