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STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR. 

BUREAU OF SECURITY AND INVESTIGATIVE SERVICES 
Post Office Box 989002 

West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002 
(916) 322-4000 

www.bsis.ca.gov 

REPOSSESSION AGENCY (FACT SHEET) 

Repossession Agency, Qualified Manager, or Repossession Agency Employee 

Requirements for Licensure 

A Repossession Agency contracts with a legal owner to locate or recover personal property that has been 
sold under a security agreement. 

In order for a company to seek licensure as a repossession agency, the Qualified Manager (see below) 
must have passed the licensing examination. In addition, each individual applicant, partner, or corporate 
officer must be 18 or older and must undergo a criminal history background check through the California 
Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

To apply for a company license, submit a completed application, an $825 company license fee, two recent 
passport-quality photographs and a Repossessor Agency Live Scan form signed by the Live Scan 
Operator. A $32 DOJ fingerprint processing fee and a $17 FBI fingerprint processing fee must be paid for 
each applicant at the Live Scan site. Send your application package to the Bureau of Security and 
Investigative Services, P.O. Box 989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002. 

(A qualified manager who is also an applicant, partner, or officer is not required to send in another set of 
fingerprints or pay another fingerprint processing fee.) 

Note: Local government may also require registration but may not charge a fee. 

Qualified Manager 
An individual, partnership, or corporation seeking licensure as a repossession agency must specify in the 
application the individual who will manage the business on a day-to-day basis. This individual is called the 
Qualified Manager. (An owner, partner, or corporate officer may serve as the Qualified Manager, or may 
hire someone to fill this role.) Qualified Managers must be in active control of the business and must meet 
the following requirements: 

• Be 18 or older 

• Undergo a criminal history background check through the DOJ and the FBI 

• Have two years (4,000 hours) of experience within the last five years as an employee of a licensed 
California repossession agency or two years (4,000 hours) of recent legally acquired experience 
recovering personal property sold under a security agreement in California (while working as an 
employee of a financial institution or vehicle dealer) 

• Pass a two-hour multiple-choice examination covering the Collateral Recovery Act (formerly the 
Repossessors Act) and related laws, prohibited acts and citations, conduct of business, and disciplinary 
proceedings. A copy of the Collateral Recovery Act will be sent to you. 

http://www.bsis.ca.gov


 
 

  
  

 
  

 
   

  
  

  

 

  
   

 
   

 
  

 
   

 
  

 
 

  
  

  
 

 
 

    
 

   
  

  
 

 

 

Submit a completed application with two recent passport-quality photographs, a $325 application fee and 
a Repossessor Agency Qualified Manager Live Scan form signed by the Live Scan Operator. A $32 DOJ 
fingerprint processing fee and a $17 FBI fingerprint processing fee must be paid for each applicant at the 
Live Scan site. Send your application package to the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, P.O. 
Box 989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002. 

Repossession Agency Employee 
Employees hired by a repossession agency to recover property must be registered with the Department of 
Consumer Affairs. To be eligible to apply for registration as a repossession agency employee, you must 
meet the following requirements: 

• Be 18 or older; and 

• Submit your completed application with two recent passport-quality photographs, a $75 registration fee 
and a Repossession Agency Employee Live Scan form signed by the Live Scan Operator. A $32 DOJ 
fingerprint processing fee and a $17 FBI fingerprint processing fee must be paid for each applicant at 
the Live Scan site. Send your application package to the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, 
P.O. Box 989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002. 

Once you have submitted your application and the appropriate fees, you may work for 120 days with a 
temporary registration if you do not have a record of any felony convictions and have not committed any 
violations of the Collateral Recovery Act or any other acts constituting grounds for denial. 

State registration is not required of clerical employees or others whose duties do not include actual 
repossessing. 

Note: Whenever you change employers, you must reregister within 15 working days. Submit a re­
registration application and $30 fee to the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, P.O. Box 
989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002. 

Applications for registration as a repossessor employee are available from repossession agencies. To 
request an application for licensure as a repossession agency or qualified manager, call 916-322-4000 or 
1-800-952-5210, or visit our Web site at www.bsis.ca.gov 

"Protection of the public shall be the highest priority for the Bureau of Security and Investigative 
Services in exercising licensing, regulatory and disciplinary functions. Whenever the protection of 
the public is consistent with other interests sought to be promoted, the protection of the public 
shall be paramount." 
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