New California State Law Impacts Proprietary Security Officers and Their Employers

California Code of Regulations 645

The proprietary training regulations were made operative on December 12, 2009 by California Office of Administrative Law.

The adopted regulations will require that all proprietary security officers complete an initial training curriculum of 16 hours with an additional 2 hours of annual continuing education each year thereafter.

According to Business and Professions Code section 7574.1, a proprietary private security officer is an unarmed individual who is employed exclusively by any one employer whose primary duty is to provide security services for his or her employer, whose services are not contracted to any other entity or person, and who is not exempt pursuant to Section 7582.2, and who meets both of the following criteria:

- Is required to wear a distinctive uniform clearly identifying the individual as a security officer
- Is likely to interact with the public while performing his or her duties

The Proprietary Security Services Act, passed in 2006, required a person who met the definition of a proprietary private security officer to register with the Department of Consumer Affairs. In 2007 the Proprietary Security Services Act was amended to require a proprietary private security officer to complete training in security officer skills within a specified period of time. (See Business and Professions Code section 7574.5). Section 7574.5 shall apply on and after July 1, 2009, to any person hired as a proprietary private security officer on and after January 1, 2009. For a person hired as a proprietary private security officer before January 1, 2009, that section shall apply on and after January 1, 2010 (7574.7 Applicability of Section 7574.5). This amendment required the department to develop and approve a standard course and curriculum for the skills training; therefore "Skills Training Course for Proprietary Private Security Officers" was established. (See Business and Professions Code section 7574.22).

To view the Training Curriculum please click here: http://www.bsis.ca.gov/forms_pubs/train_syllabus.pdf

Senate bill 741 amended the Proprietary Security Services Act of 2006:

Effective on and after January 1, 2011, companies that employ security officers as employees or "proprietary private security employers" will be required to register with the department. The law requires applicants for registration to apply to the department and would require these applications to include, among other things, a \$50 fee for officers and a \$75 fee for employers as well as fingerprints for the officer application. The law requires that, upon approval of an application by the Director of Consumer Affairs, officer and employer applicants be issued a registration card or registration certificate, respectively.

This law also on and after July 1, 2011, requires registered proprietary private security officers to complete training in security officer skills (as shown above). The law requires employers to maintain specified records regarding the employment of officers and their completion of training in security officer skills, for no less than two years. The law also requires these officers on duty to carry a valid and current registration card or a specified alternative as well as other identification. (See Business and Professions Code section 7574.22).

(Disclaimer: A Proprietary Private Security Officer (PPSO) shall not carry a firearm or a baton)