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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

TITLE 16. BUREAU OF SECURITY AND INVESTIGATIVE SERVICES 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 
Fees 

Legend: Added text is indicated with an underline. 
Deleted text is indicated by strikeout. 

Amend Section 638 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
as follows: 

§ 638. Locksmith Fees. 

The fees prescribed by S.§ection 6980.79 of the Locksmith Act in the Business and 
Professions Code are those fixed in the following schedule: 

(a) A locksmith license application fee shall be thirty dollars ($30). two hundred seventy­
five dollars ($275). 

(b) An original license and renev.,1al fee for a locksmith license shall be forty five dollars 
($45). two hundred seventy-five dollars ($275), and a renewal fee for a locksmith license 
shall be five hundred fifty dollars ($550). 

(c) A branch office initial registration fee and branch office renewal fee shall be thirty five 
dollars ($35). two hundred seventy-five dollars ($275), and a branch office renewal fee 
shall be one hundred sixty-five dollars ($165). 

(d) An initial registration fee for an employee performing the services of a locksmith shall 
be tv,mnty dollars ($20) sixty dollars ($60). 

(e) A registration renewal fee for an employee performing the services of a locksmith shall 
be t>11enty dollars ($20). forty-four dollars ($44 ). 

(f) The fee for a "Certificate of Licensure" shall be twenty-five dollars ($20§). 

Authority cited: Section 6980.7, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
6980.79, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 639 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
as follows: 

§ 639. Private Investigator Fees. 

The fees prescribed by sections 7529 and 7570 of the Private Investigator Act in the 
Business and Professions Code are as follows: 

Bureau of Security & Inv. Services Order of Adoption Page 1 of 7 
16 CCR 638, 639, 640, 641, 642, & Fees 6/12/2025 
642.5 



(a) The application and examination fee for an original license shall be three hundred forty 
dollars ($340) plus the fee for each required enhanced photo identification card as set forth 
in subdivision (i). three hundred seventy-four dollars ($37 4 ). 

(b) The application fee for an original branch office certificate shall be ninety dollars ($90). 
ninety-nine dollars ($99). 

(c) The fee for an original license for a private investigator shall be three hundred eighty 
five dollars ($385). four hundred twenty-four dollars ($424 ). 

(d) The renewal fee is as follovvs: for a private investigator license shall be two hundred 
ninety-two dollars ($292). 

(1) For a license as a private investigator, the fee shall be t\vo hundred sixty five 
dollars ($265) plus the fee for each required enhanced photo identification card as 
set forth in subdivision (i). 

(2) For a branch office certificate for a private investigator, the fee shall be sixty five 
dollars ($65). 

(e) The renewal fee for a branch office certificate for a private investigator shall be seventy­
two dollars ($72). 

f8j ill The fee for reexamination of an applicant or his or her their qualified manager shall 
be sixty dollars ($60). sixty-six dollars ($66). 

• ff)-.{_g}_The processing fee for the assignment of a private investigator license shall be fotl-r 
hundred dollars ·($400). four hundred forty dollars ($440). 

M {h_) A firearms permit fee shall be one hundred dollars ($100). one hundred ten dollars 
($110). 

w--A ill The firearms permit renewal fee shall be eighty dollars ($80). eighty-eight dollars 
($88). 

(i) The "enhanced photo identification card fee" as provided in this section shall be four 
dollars ($4) per card for each licensee including each individual, partner of a partnership, 
officer of a corporation, or member, manager, or officer of a limited liability company, and 
any qualified manager as defined in Section 7512.7 of the Code. 

(j) The fee for a qualified manager license shall be three hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(k) The renewal fee for a qualified manager license shall be two hundred forty-eight dollars 
($248). 

Authority cited: Section 7515, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7529, 
7530 and 7570, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 640 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
as follows: 

§ 640. Private Security Services Fees. 

The fees prescribed by S§ection 7588 of the Private Security Services Act in the Business 
and Professions Code are as follows: 

(a) The application and examination fee for an original license for a private patrol operator 
shall be five six hundred five dollars ($500) ($605). 

(b) The application fee for an original branch office certificate for a private patrol operator 
shall be two hundred fifty seventy-five dollars ($250) ($275). 

(c) The fee for an original license for a private patrol operator shall be seven eight hundred 
forty-seven dollars ($700) ($84 7). _ 

(d) The renewal fee is as follmvs: for a license as a private patrol operator shall be nine 
hundred ninety dollars ($990). 

(1) For a license as a private patrol operator, the fee shall be seven hundred dollars 
($700). 

(2) For a combination license as a private investigator under Chapter 11.3 
(commencing with Section 7512) and private patrol operator, AC or DC prefix, the 
fee shall be six hundred dollars ($600). 

(3) For a branch office certificate for a combination private investigator under 
Chapter 11.3 (commencing with Section 7512) and private patrol operator, the fee 
shall be forty dollars ($4 0), and for a private patrol operator, the fee shall be 
seventy five dollars ($75). 

(e) The renewal fee for a branch office certificate for a private patrol operator shall be one 
hundred sixty-five dollars ($165). 

(-0j ill The fee for reexamination of an applicant or his or her the applicant's manager shall 
be fo.rty sixty-six dollars (-$40) .{1§§). 

tB (g) The Rregistration fees are as follmvs: 

(1) A registration fee for a security guard shall be fifty dollars ($50) sixty dollars 
($60). 

~ .(h) A security guard registration renewal fee shall be thirty five forty-four dollars 
~ru.12-

(g) Fees to carry out other provisions are as follows: 

Bureau of Security & Inv. Services Order of Adoption Page 3 of 7 
16 CCR 638,639, 640, 641, 642, & Fees 6/12/2025 
642.5 



(1) A firearms qualification fee shall be eighty dollars ($80). 

(2) A firearms requalification fee shall be sixty dollars ($60). 

(3) An initial baton certification fee shall be fifty dollars ($50). 

(4) An application fee and rene\'val fee for certification as a firearms training facility 
or a baton training facility shall be five hundred dollars ($500). 

(5) An application fee and renmval fee for certification as a firearms training 
instructor or a baton training instructor shall be t\vo hundred fifty dollars ($250). 

(i) A firearms permit fee shall be one hundred ten dollars ($110). 

(j) A firearms permit renewal fee shall be eighty-eight dollars ($88). 

(k) An initial baton permit fee shall be sixty-six dollars ($66). 

(I) A baton permit renewal fee shall be forty-four dollars ($44 ). 

(m) An application fee for certification as a firearms training facility shall be eight hundred 
eighty dollars ($880). 

(n) A renewal fee for certification as a firearms training facility shall be eight hundred 
twenty-five dollars ($825). 

(o) An application fee for certification as a baton training facility shall be seven hundred 
seventy dollars ($770). 

(p) A renewal fee for certification as a baton training facility shall be six hundred five dollars 
($605) 

(q) An application fee for certification as a firearms or baton training instructor shall be 
three hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(r) A renewal fee for certification as a firearms training instructor shall be three hundred 
thirty dollars ($330). 

(s) A renewal fee for certification as a baton training instructor shall be three hundred three 
dollars ($303). • 

(t) The initial application and examination fee for a qualified manager certificate shall be 
three hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(u) The renewal fee for a qualified manager certificate shall be two hundred forty-eight 
dollars ($248). 
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Authority cited: Section 7581, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7588, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 641 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
as follows: 

§ 641. Alarm Company Operator and Agent Fees. 

The fees prescribed by S§ection 7599.70 of the Alarm Company Act in the Business and 
Professions Code are as follows: 

(a) An alarm company license application fee shall be thirty five dollars ($35). four hundred 
seven dollars ($407). 

(b) An original license fee for an alarm company operator license shall be tv.m hundred 
eighty dollars ($280). six hundred sixty dollars ($660). A renewal fee for an alarm company 
operator license shall be three hundred thirty five dollars ($335). eight hundred twenty-five 
dollars ($825). 

(c) A-A al-a-Fm qualified manager certificate application and examination fee shall be eRe 

• hundred five dollars ($105). three hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(d) A renewal fee for a-A al-a-Fm qualified manager certificate shall be one hundred tvventy 
dollars ($120). two hundred forty-eight dollars ($248). A renewal fee for a branch office 
certificate shall be one hundred sixty-five dollars ($165). 

(e) An original license fee and rene>11al fee for a branch office certificate shall be thirty five 
dollars ($35). two hundred seventy-five dollars ($275). 

(f) A fee for reexamination of an applicant for a qualified manager shall be one hundred 
sixty five dollars ($165). sixty-six dollars ($66). 

(g) An initial registration fee for a·n alarm agent shall be seventeen dollars ($17). sixty 
dollars ($60). 

(h) A registration renewal fee for an alarm agent shall be seven dollars ($7). forty-four 
dollars ($44). 

(i) A firearms qualification permit fee shall be eighty dollars ($80) one hundred ten dollars 
($110) and a firearms requalification permit renewal fee shall be sixty dollars ($60). eighty­
eight dollars ($88). 

(j) The fee for a "Certificate of Licensure" shall be twenty-five Hft.y dollars ($25 W). 

(k) The processing fee for the assignment of an alarm company operator license shall be 
one hundred twenty five dollars ($125). four hundred forty dollars ($440). 
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Authority cited: Section 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 
7593.15 and 7599.70, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 642 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
as follows: 

§ 642. Collateral Recovery Fees. 

The fees prescribed by S.§ection 7511 of the Collateral Recovery Act in the Business and 
Professions Code are as follows: 

(a) The application fee for an original repossession agency license shall be eight hundred 
tvventy five dollars ($825). one thousand sixty-seven dollars ($1,067). 

(b) The application fee for an original qualification qualified manager certificate shall be 
three hundred rNenty five dollars ($325). three hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(c) The renewal fee for a repossession agency license shall be seven hundred fifteen 
dollars ($715) eight hundred twenty-five dollars ($825) biennially. 

(d) The renewal fee for a license as a qualified manager certificate holder shall be foHr 
hundred fifty dollars ($450) two hundred forty-eight dollars ($248) biennially. 

(e) Not\\'ithstanding Section 163.5, the reinstatement fee f-or a repossession agency 
license required pursuant to Sections 7503.11 and 7505.3 is the amount equal to the 
renev,ml fee plus a penalty of 50 percent thereof. 

(f) Notwithstanding Section 163.5, the reinstatement fee f-or a license as a qualified 
certificate holder required pursuant to Sections 7504 .7 and 7503.11 is the amount equal 
to the renevval fee plus a penalty of 50 percent thereof. 

(§!~) A fee for reexamination ·of an applicant for a qualified manager shall be thirty dollars 
($30). sixty-six dollars ($66). 

(h-f) An initial registrant registration fee shall be seventy five dollars ($75) eighty-two dollars 
~, a registrant reregistration fee shall be thirty dollars ($30) eighty-two dollars ($82), 
and a registrant biennial renewal fee shall be sixty dollars ($60) forty-four dollars ($44) per 
registration. Notwithstanding Section 163.5 and this subdivision, the reregistration fee for 
a registrant whose registration expired more than one year prior to the filing of the 
application for reregistration shall be seventy five dollars ($75). eighty-two dollars ($82). 

(i) The delinquency fee is 50 percent of the renevval fee in effect on the date of expiration, 
but not less than t\venty five dollars ($25). 

(j) The fingerprint processing fee is that amount charged the bureau by the Department of 
Justice. 
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(k) The director shall furnish one copy of any issue or edition of the licensing lavv and rules 
and regulations to any applicant or licensee v,ithout charge. The director shall charge and 
collect a fee of ten dollars ($10) plus sales tax for each additional copy which may be 
furnished on request to any applicant or licensee, and for each copy furnished on request 
to any other person. 

f4 .{g} The processing fee for the assign_ment of a repossession agency license pursuant 
to Section 7503.9 of the Code shall be one hundred twenty five dollars ($125). four 
hundred forty dollars ($440). 

Authority cited: Section 7501.6, Business arid Professions Code. Reference: Section 
7511, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 642.5 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations 
as follows: • 

§ 642.5. Proprietary Private Security Officer Fees. 

The fees authorized by S.§ection§ 7574 .2 of the Proprietary Security Services Act 757 4.11 
and 757 4.13 in the Business and Professions Code are as follows: 

(1) A registration fee for a proprietary private security guard shall be fifty dollars ($50) . .{fil 
An application for registration·as a·proprietary private security officer shall be sixty dollars 
($60). 

~ (b) The renewal fee for-A-a registered proprietary private security officer guard 
registration renewal fee shall be thirty five dollars ($35). shall be forty-four dollars ($44). 

~ filThe delinquency fee for renewal as a proprietary private security officer shall be fs 
50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the date of expiration, but not less than twenty­
five dollars ($25). 

(d) The application fee for registration as a proprietary private security employer shall be 
three hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(e) The renewal fee for a registered proprietary private security employer shall be three 
hundred eighty-five dollars ($385). 

(f) The delinquency fee for renewal as a proprietary private security employer shall be 50 
percent of the renewal fee in effect on the date of expiration. 

(g) The reinstatement fee following a suspension pursuant to this section shall be 25 
percent of the renewal fee. • 

Authority cited: Section 7574 .2 757 4.05, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Section.§ 7542.2 163.5, 757 4.11, 757 4.13 and 757 4.36 Business and Professions Code. 
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