
Bureau of Security and Investigative Services 
Proposed Regulatory Language 

Amend Section 601 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601. Application for Examination. 

An applicant is not eligible for examination until he or she has they have filed a complete 
application accompanied by the appropriate fee. Complete applications must be filed in person 
at or mailed to the bBureau's Sacramento office not later than 20 days prior to the next 
scheduled or requested examination date. An applicant who fails to file within the above time 
period may, at the bBureau's discretion, be scheduled to take the following scheduled 
examination. 

Authority cited: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7503, 7526, 7582.8 and 7593, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 601.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.1. Time and Place of Examinations. 

Examinations shall be given at least once every two months at such places and on such dates 
as the Chief may from time to time fix. The bBureau shall mail to each applicant who has 
been approved to take an examination a notice of the date, time and place of the examination. 
Such notice shall be sent by regular mail to the home address shown on the application not 
later than two weeks prior thereto. 

Authority cited: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7504, 7504.5, 7527, 7582.8, 7582.9 and 7599, Business and Professions 
Code. 

Amend Section 601.2 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.2. Reexaminations. 

An applicant who fails to pass the examination or who fails to appear for the examination after 
proper notification by the bBureau shall not be permitted to take any subsequent examination 
unless he or she has they have duly filed a completed application for reexamination, 
accompanied by the appropriate fee, for each such subsequent examination. This section shall 
not apply to an applicant who has requested a rescheduled examination date within seven 
days after receipt of the original scheduling notice. 
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Authority cited: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7504.4, 7511, 7527.5, 7570, 7582.10, 7588, 7599.7 and 7599.70, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 601.3 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.3. Abandonment of Applications, 

If an applicant fails to complete his or her application within one year after it has been filed, or 
fails to take and pass the examination within a one year period after becoming eligible therefor, 
the application shall be deemed abandoned. Any application submitted subsequent to the 
abandonment of a former application shall be treated as a new application and must be filed in 
accordance with Section 601. 

Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.25, 7504.6, 7523, 7526, 7582.8, 7583.28, and 
7593, Business and Professions Code. 

Repeal Section 601.4 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations: 

$ 601.4. Permit Processing Times. 

"Permit" as defined by the Permit Reform Act of 1981 means any license, certificate, 
registration, permit or any other form of authorization required by a state agency to engage in a 
particular activity or act. Processing times for the bureau's various programs are set forth 
below. The actual processing times apply to these persons who take and pass the first actual 
available examination. 

An application is deemed complete if all required fees and supporting documentation have 
been submitted, and, where applicable, fingerprint clearances have been received from either 
the Department of Justice of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

Maximum time Maximum ACTUAL 
for notifying the time after PROCESSING 

TIMESapplicant, in receipt 
writing. of a complete BASED ON 
that application application to PRIOR TWO 
is complete of issue or deny YEARSPROGRAM 
deficient: license. 
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Alarm Go. 
Operator 

60 days 120 days 
Minimum 
10 days 

Median 
70 days 

Maximum 
229 days 

ACO Renewal 30 days 
Alarm Co. Branch 30 days 
ACB Renewal 30 days 
Alarm Co. Qual. 60-days 
Cert 

60 days 

60 days 
60 days 

120 days 

4 days 
1 day 
3 days 
46 days 

8 days 
77 days 
12 days 
98 days 

76 days 
235 days 
333 days 
316 days 

ACQ Renewal 
Alarm Agent 
Alarm Agent 
Renewal 

30 days 
30 days 
30 days 

60 days 
120 days 
60 days 

2 days 
36 days 
4 days 

3 days 
76 days 
6 days 

118 days 
236-days 
64 days 

Alarm Photo ID 
Priv. Patrol Oper. 
License 

30 days 
60 days 

30 days 
120 days 

16 days 
4 days 

36 days 
99 days 

187 days 
324 days 

PPO Renewal 
PPO Branch 
License 

30 days 
30 days 

60 days 
60-days 

1 day 
2 days 

12 days 
13 days 

74 days 
172 days 

PPO Branch 
Renewal 

30 days 60 days 4 day 14 days 155 days 

See. Guard 
Registration 

60-days 120 days 35 days 55 days 137 days 

See. Guard 
Renewal 

30 days 60 days 4 day 8 days 48-days 

Private Investigator 60 days 
PI Renewal 30 days 
PI Branch 30 days 
PI Branch Renewal 30 days 
Repossessor 60 days 
License 

120 days 
60 days 
60 days 
60 days 
120-days 

20 days 
3 days 
1 day 
1 day 
1 day 

126 days 265 days 
14 days 48 days 
14 days 250 days 
8 days 177 days 
50-days 165 days 

Repe. Renewal 
Repo. Qual. 
Certificate 

30 days 
60 days 

60 days 
120 days 

3 days 
40 days 

10 days 47 days 
81 days 323 days 

Repo. QC Renewal 30-days 
Repo Employee 45 days 
Regis. 

60 days 
120-days 

1 day 
3 days 

9 days 
47 days 

42 days 
170 days 

Registration 
Renewal 

30 days 60 days 4 day 7 days 30 days 

Training Facility 
Baton 

60-days 120 days 4 day 21 days 97 days 

TFB Renewal 
Instructor Gert.-
Baton 

30 days 
60 days 

60 days 
120 days 

5 days 
2 days 

19 days 82 days 
31 days 154 days 
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Cert. Renewal- 30 days 60 days 2 days 17 days 161 days 
Baton 

Training Fac.- 60 days 120 days 3 days 16 days 116 days 

Firearms 
IFF Renewal 30 days 60 days 3 days 15 days 215 days 

Instructor Cert.- 60 days 120-days 6 days 30 days 177 days 

Firearm 
Cert. Renewal- 30 days 60 days 2 days 16 days 104 days 
Firearm 
Firearm Permit 
Firearm Permit 

60 days 
30 days 

120 days 
60 days 

51 days 
8 days 

91 days 244 days 
12 days 60 days 

Renewal 
Locksmith Permit 
Lock. Permit 

60 days 
30 days 

120 days 
60 days 

18 days 
4 day 

53 days 152 days 
10 days 58 days 

Renewal 

Authority cited: Sections-6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 15374, 15375, 15376, 15377 and 15378, Government Code. 

Amend Section 601.6 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.6. Citations for Unlicensed Persons. 

(a) The Chief or his or her their designee may issue a citation, in accordance with section 148 
of the Business and Professions Code against any unlicensed person who is acting in the 
capacity of a licensee, registrant, permit holder, or certificate holder under the jurisdiction of 
the Bureau and who is not otherwise exempt from licensure. Each citation may contain an 
assessment of an administrative fine up to $5,000 and, where appropriate, an order of 
abatement fixing a reasonable period of time not to exceed 30 days for abatement. 

(b) Any sanction authorized for activity under this section shall be separate from and in 
addition to any other civil or criminal remedies. 

(c) In addition, the Chief or his or her their designee may issue a citation, in accordance with 
sections 148 and 149 of the Code against any person who advertises, as defined in 
subdivision (g) of section 600.1, without a license. 

Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05, 7574.30 and 7581, 
Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.10, 7574.12. 
7574.30 and 7582, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 601.7 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.7. Citation Factors for Unlicensed Person. 

The following factors shall be considered when determining the amount of an administrative 
fine: 

(a) The good or bad faith exhibited by the cited person. 

(b) The nature and severity of the violation. 

(c) Evidence that the violation was willful. 

(d) History of violations of the same or similar nature. 

(e) The extent to which the cited person has cooperated with the Bureau. 

(f) The extent to which the cited person has mitigated or attempted to mitigate any damage or 
injury caused by his or her their violation. 

g) Any other factors as justice may require. 

Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05. 7574.30 and 7581, 
Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.30 and 7582, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 601.8 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.8. Citation Format for Unlicensed Persons. 

Each citation: 

(a) Shall be in writing. 

(b) Shall describe with particularity the nature of the violation, including specific reference to 
the provision of the Act or regulation contained in this division determined to have been 
violated. 

(c) May contain an assessment of an administrative fine, an order of abatement fixing a 
reasonable period of time not to exceed 30 days for abatement, or both an administrative fine 
and an order of abatement. 
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(d) Shall inform the cited person that, if he or she they desires a hearing to contest the finding 
of a violation, that hearing shall be requested by written notice to the Bureau within thirty (30) 
days of the issuance of the citation or assessment. 

(e) Shall inform the cited person if he or she they desires an informal conference with the Chief 
or his or her their designee to contest the finding of a violation, that the informal conference 
shall be requested by written notice to the Bureau within ten (10) days of the issuance of the 
citation or assessment. 

(f) Shall be served upon the cited person personally or by certified mail. 

Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05, 7574.30 and 7581, 
Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.30 and 7582, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 601.9 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.9. Compliance with Order of Abatement for Unlicensed Persons. 

(a) The time allowed for abatement of a violation shall begin the first day after the order of 
abatement has been served. If a cited person who has been issued an order of abatement is 
unable to complete the correction within the time set forth in the citation because of conditions 
beyond his or her their control after the exercise of reasonable diligence, the person cited may 
request an extension of time in which to complete the correction from the Chief or his or her 
their designee. Such a request shall be in writing and shall be made within the time set forth for 
abatement. 

(b) When an order of abatement is not contested or if the order is appealed and the person or 
entity cited does not prevail, failure to abate the violation charged within the time specified in 
the citation shall constitute a violation and failure to comply with the order of abatement. 

Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05, and 7581, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.30 and 7582, Business and 
Professions Code 

Amend Section 601.10 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 601.10. Contest of Citations for Unlicensed Persons. 

(a) If a cited person wishes to contest the citation, assessment of the administrative fine, or 
order of abatement, the cited person shall, within thirty (30) days after service of the citation, 
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file in writing a request for an administrative hearing to the Bureau regarding the acts charged 
n the citation, as provided for in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 125.9 of the Code. 

(b) In addition to, or instead of, requesting an administrative hearing, as provided for in 
subdivision (b)(4) of Section 125.9 of the Code, the cited person may, within ten (10) days after 
service of the citation, contest the citation by submitting a written request for an informal 
citation conference to the Bureau. 

(c) Upon receipt of a written request for an informal citation conference, the Chief or his or her 
their designee shall, within thirty (30) days, hold an informal citation conference with the cited 
person. 

(d) If an informal citation conference is held, the Chief or his or her their designee may affirm, 
modify, or dismiss the citation, including any fine levied or order of abatement issued, at the 
conclusion of the informal citation conference. If affirmed or modified, the citation originally 
issued shall be considered withdrawn and an affirmed or modified citation, including reason for 
the decision, shall be issued. The affirmed or modified citation shall be mailed to the cited 
person and his or her their legal counsel, if any, within fifteen (15) days from the date of the 
informal citation conference. 

(e) If a cited person wishes to contest an affirmed or modified citation, the person shall, within 
thirty (30) days of his or her their notification, file in writing a request for an administrative 
hearing to the Bureau regarding the acts charged in the affirmed or modified citation, in 
accordance with subdivision (b)(4) of Section 125.9 of the Code. 

(f) A cited person may not request another informal conference for a citation which was 
modified or affirmed during an informal conference. 

Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05 and 7581, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520 and 7582, Business and Professions 
Code. 

Amend Section 603 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 603. Scope of Article 1.5. 

Except as otherwise provided therein, provisions contained in Article 1.5 of these regulations 
shall apply to persons licensed, registered or certified under Chapter 8.5 (Locksmiths), 11 
(Repossessers-Collateral Recovery Act), 11.3 (Private Investigator Act), 11.4 (Proprietary 
Security Services Act), 11.5 (Private Investigator-Act-Private Security Services Act) and 11.6 
(Alarm Company Act) of the Code. 
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Authority cited: Sections 6980.7. 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
Professions Code. 

Amend Section 606 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 606. Filing of Addresses. 

Except as otherwise specified in statute, each person applying for or issued a certificate, 
registration, permit or license under Chapters 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 11.6 of the Code 
shall: 

(a) as required by the Code file his or her current address of record with the bBureau; 

(b) within thirty (30) days of a change of address, notify the bBureau of the change, indicating 
both the old and new addresses; and 

(c) not list a post office box or the address of a mailbox service as his or her their address of 
record unless mail delivery to the physical location of the residence or business is not possible 
and/or, in the case of a licensed business, the principal place of business is located in the 
licensee's personal residence. 

(1) If the address of record listed is that of a mailbox service or a post office box, it must 
clearly be identified as such. 

(2) If the principal place of business is a personal residence, and a post office box or the 
address of a mailbox service is listed as the address of record, the residence address 
must also be provided. 

(3) The requirements of subsection (b) herein shall apply to any change of address, 
including, but not limited to, a change of post office box, mailbox service, or a change of 
business or residence location. 

Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 136, 6980.17, 6980.18, 6980.19, 6980.20, 6980.21, 
7503, 7503.2, 7503.3, 7503.4, 7506.5, 7507.1, 7525.1, 7533, 7574.2, 7574.11, 7574.13, 
7582.7, 7582.18, 7582.18, 7582.19, 7583.10, 7585.3, 7585.11, 7593, 7593.1, 7593.2, 7593.3, 
7593.4, 7593.5, 7598.6 and 7599.23, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 607 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 607. Employee Records. 

Each licensee shall maintain at the principal place of business or branch office a file or record 
of the name, address, commencing date of employment, and position of each employee, and 
the date when an employee is terminated. Such files or records shall be retained during the 
time of employment and for a period of not less than two years thereafter and, together with 
usual payroll records, shall be available for inspection by the bBureau. Copies thereof and 
information pertaining thereto or contained therein shall be submitted to the bBureau upon 
request. 

Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 6980.42, 7507.2, 7531.5, 7582.16, 7582.17 and 7591.7, Business 
and Professions Code 

Amend Section 607.4 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 607.4. Assignment of License. 

(a) A license issued under Chapter 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 11.6 of the Code is not 
assignable. 

(b) "Assignable" refers to a quality or legal attribute which permits a thing to be transferred or 
negotiated. To say that a license is "not assignable" is to say that 

(1) the rights, privileges and duties attached to the license may not be transferred from one 
person to another; and that 

(2) no licensee may permit an employee or agent in his or her their own name to advertise, 
engage clients, furnish reports, render services, present bills to customers or in any manner 
conduct business for which a license is required under Chapter 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 
11.6 

Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.17, 6980.31, 7502, 7503.9, 7520, 7530, 7582, 
7582.14, 7592, 7599.34 and 7599.47, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 607.5 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 607.5. Change of Ownership. 

A licensee shall, within thirty (30) days after transferring his of her their interest in a licensed 
business, notify the bBureau in writing of the transfer. Such notification shall include the name 
and mailing address of the new owner and the date upon which the transfer became effective. 

Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 7502, 7503.9 7505.3, 7520, 7530, 7539, 7582, 7582.14, 7582.26, 
7592, 7594.3 and 7599.34, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 608.3 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 608.3. Bureau-Issued Identification Card. 

(a) Licensees shall, at all times while in the course of their duties, maintain in their possession 
any bBureau-issued identification cards relevant to the duties being performed and issued 
under Chapters 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 and 11.6 of the Code and shall present them to any 
peace officer or bBureau representative upon demand. 

(b) "Bureau-issued identification card," as used herein, refers to any card serving as 
verification of license, registration, permit or certification status and issued pursuant to Chapter 
8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 11.6 of the Code. 

(c) In the event of the loss, destruction or theft of his or her a bBureau-issued identification 
card, the licensee shall within 72 hours: 

(1) notify his or her their employer of the loss, and 

(2) apply to the Chief for a certified replacement for the card, certifying under penalty of 
perjury as to the circumstances surrounding the loss, and remit a $10.00 per-card 
certification the replacement fee, whereupon the Chief shall issue a certified 
replacement. The replacement fee for the baton certificate is $5.00 per card. 

(d) After applying for, but prior to receiving, a certified replacement card, the licensee or 
registrant shall carry the receipt from his or her their original card or other such documentation 
as may serve to verify certification, registration or licensing status. No documentation may be 
substituted for a valid firearms qualification card in meeting the requirements of Sections 7542, 
and 7597.1 of the Code. 
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(e) A person may work as a proprietary private security officer pending receipt of the 
registration card if he or she has they have been approved by the Bureau and carries on his of 
her carry on their person a hardcopy printout of the Bureau's approval from the Bureau's web 
site and a valid picture identification. 

Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 163, 6980.23, 7506.9, 7508.1, 7529, 7542, 7574.11, 
7582.13, 7583.3, 7583.5, 7583.17, 7583.22, 7583.32, 7593.7, 7598.14, 7597.1 and 7598.51, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 620 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 620. Qualifications and Experience. 

(a) At the time an application is filed, an applicant shall possess all qualifications required by 
applicable sections of Chapters 11.3, 11.5 and 11.6 of the Code or by these regulations. 

(b) A year's experience shall consist of not less than 2,000 hours of actual compensated work 
performed by each applicant preceding the filing of an application. 

(c) Applicants shall substantiate claimed years and hours of qualifying experience and the 
exact details as to the character and nature thereof by written certifications from employers, 
subject to independent verification by the Director as he or she they may determine to be 
warranted. In the event of inability of applicants to supply such written certifications from 
employers in whole or in part, applicants may offer written certifications from persons other 
than employers covering the same subject matter for consideration by the Director. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 7515, 7526, 7541, 7581, 7582.8, 7583.1, 7585.5, 7585.12, 7591.6 and 7593, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 621 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 621. Advertisement. 

(a) The word "advertisement," as used in Sections 7534 and 7561.3 (a & b) of Chapter 11.3, 
Section 7582.20 of Chapter 11.5, and Sections 7590.1() (a) and 7599.44 of Chapter 11.6 
mean: 

(1) Any written or printed communication for the purpose of soliciting, describing, or 
promoting the licensed business of the licensee, including a brochure, letter, pamphlet, 
newspaper, periodical, publication or other writing. 
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(2) A directory listing caused or permitted by the licensee which indicates his or her their
licensed activity. 

(3) A radio, television or similar airwave transmission which solicits or promotes the 
licensed business of the licensee. 

(b) The word "advertisement," as used in Sections 7534 and 7561.3 (a & b) of Chapter 11.3, 
Section 7582.20 of Chapter 11.5, and Sections 7590.1() (a) and 7599.44 of Chapter 11.6, 
shall not include the following: 

(1) Any printing or writing used on buildings, vehicles, uniforms, badges, or other 
property where the purpose of the printing or writing is identification. 

(2) Any printing or writing on communications, memoranda, or any other writings used in 
the ordinary course of business where the purpose of the writing is other than the 
solicitation or promotion of business 

(3) Any printing or writing on novelty objects used in the promotion of the licensee's 
business where the printing of the information required by Sections 7534 and 7561.3 (a 
& b) of Chapter 11.3, Section 7582.20 of Chapter 11.5, and Sections 7590.1() (a) and 
7599.44 of Chapter 11.6 would be impractical due to the available area or surface 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 7534, 7535, 7561.3, 7582.20. 7582.21, 7590.1 and 7599.44, Business and 
Professions Code. 

Amend Section 621.2 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 621.2. Dishonesty or Fraud. 

As used in Sections 7561.4, 7587.4 and 7599.61 of the Code "dishonesty or fraud" includes, 
but is not limited to: 

(a) Violation of Sections 212, 216, 222, or 223 of the Labor Code. 

(b) Failure to provide, where required by law, for workers' compensation insurance or, as an 
employer, to carry out the obligations imposed by the Unemployment Insurance Act Code. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 7561.4, 7587.4 and 7599.61, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 622 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 622. Branch Office Certificates. 

Application to conduct business from any location other than the principal place of business 
shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the dDirector and accompanied by the fee 
prescribed. A branch office certificate shall be issued if it is established that the conditions of 
this Section and Section 7536 of Chapter 11.3, Section 7582.22 of Chapter 11.5 and Section 
7599.25 of Chapter 11.6 have been met. 

(a) Under the active management, direction and control of the licensee or his or her their 
manager, a branch office shall have a designated person in charge. The bBureau shall at all 
times be informed of the name of such person. 

(b) Records of all business transacted at a branch office shall be maintained by the licensee 
and available for inspection by the bBureau. 

(c) A branch office shall be an established place of business and shall maintain reasonable 
hours for service to its customers. Telephone referral service to a different location does not 
meet the requirements of this section. 

Authority cited: Sections 7514, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7536, 7582.22 and 7599.25, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 624 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 624. Investigative Reports to Customers. 

Investigative reports shall be submitted to a customer at such times and in such manner as 
has been agreed upon between the licensee and the customer. Upon demand by the 
customer, the licensee shall not refuse to divulge to the customer the results of an 
investigation if payment has been tendered for charges levied. It is the responsibility of the 
licensee to provide the customer with a fee schedule or a reasonable explanation of the 
method by which charges to the customer for services are to be calculated 

Authority cited: Section 7515 Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7539 
Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 625 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 625. Definitions. 

(a) For purposes of this article, "licensee" means a private patrol operator or an alarm 
company operator. 

(b) For purposes of this article, "guard or registrant" means a uniformed employee of a private 
patrol operator, an alarm agent of an alarm company operator, and any person employed or 
compensated by a private patrol operator or any lawful business as a security guard and who, 
in the course of such employment, carries a deadly weapon. 

Authority cited: Sections 7580.14, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7580.6, 7580.14-and 7590.1, Business and Professions Code 

Amend Section 625.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 625.1. Application for Registration. 

a) The licensee shall require any employee who is subject to registration to furnish evidence 
of current registration with the bBureau or, if such evidence is not furnished, to complete an 
application for registration, provide two sets of classifiable fingerprints and pay the fees 
specified in Sections 665.5-640 and 641. The licensee shall maintain supplies of application 
and fingerprint forms as approved by the Director and as provided upon request by the 
bBureau. 

(b) Within three working days after employment of any person subject to registration who is not 
currently registered, the licensee shall submit to the bBureau the completed application for 
registration, two sets of classifiable fingerprints and the registration fee. No application is to be 
submitted if the employee has terminated within the three working days. For purposes of this 
section "employment" means the date the employee is placed on the payroll. 

(c) Any person may apply for registration whether or not he is employed at the time of 
application. 

Authority cited: Sections 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7580, 7583.9, 7590 and-7593, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 626 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 626. Suspension of Employment. 

If the Director determines that continued employment of an applicant for registration in his of 
her their current capacity may present an undue hazard to public safety, the licensee, upon 
proper notification from the Chief, shall suspend such applicant from employment in that 
capacity until action to approve or deny the registration has become final. 

Authority and cited: Sections 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7583.15, 7598.12 and 7599.61, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 627 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 627. Registration Expiration and Renewal. 

(a) A registration shall expire two years from the date of issuance or on the assigned renewal 
date. 

(b) At least sixty days prior to the expiration of a registration, a registrant who desires to 
continue registration shall complete an application for renewal of registration 

(c) The licensee shall obtain renewal forms from the bBureau, and shall provide the 
opportunity to an employee whose registration will expire at the end of the year to complete a 
renewal application. The licensee shall submit to the bBureau the completed application and 
renewal fee at least 30 days prior to the expiration. 

(d) A registrant may obtain renewal forms from the bBureau and may submit the renewal 
application and fee to the bBureau. 

e) The renewed registration shall be for two years and shall expire two years from the date of 
ssuance or on the assigned renewal date. The amount of the renewal fee shall be fixed by the 
Director. 

(f) In the event a registrant fails to request a renewal of his or her their registration as provided 
for in this chapter, the registration shall expire as indicated on the registration. If the 
registration is renewed within 60 days after its expiration, the registrant, as a condition 
precedent to renewal, shall pay the renewal fee and the delinquency fee. 

(9) If the renewed registration card has not been delivered to the registrant prior to the date of 
expiration of the prior registration, the registrant may present a copy of his renewal application 
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as evidence of continued registration, for a period not to exceed 90 days after the date of 
expiration. 

Authority cited: Sections 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7574.11, 7583.20, 7593.11 and 7593.13, Business and Professions 
Code. 

Amend Section 628 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 628. Training in Exercising the Powers to Arrest. 

(a) The course of training in the powers to arrest prescribed by the Department of Consumer 
Affairs pursuant to Sections 7542, and 7583.6 and 7598.1 of the Business and Professions 
Code consists of successful completion of a course approved by the bBureau in exercising the 
powers to arrest. 

(b) Uniformed employees of private patrol operators and responding alarm agents shall take 
and successfully complete the training course and examination in the exercise of powers to 
arrest. An employee must receive a score of 100% on said examination in order to 
successfully complete said course. 

The course of training and administration of the examination may be given by a training school 
approved by the bBureau or by the employer or such uniformed employees provided that such 
employer has a designated instructor and such instructor is knowledgeable in the powers to 
arrest as set forth in the Standard Training Manual issued by the bBureau and is able to assist 
employees who cannot read or write. 

(c) A licensee or approved training school which administers the training and examination shall 
retain the examination results on bBureau-approved answer sheets for a period of not less 
than two years or until audited by the bBureau, whichever occurs first. A licensee or training 
facility shall certify under penalty of perjury on the employee's application for registration that 
such person has successfully completed the training and examination contained in the 
Standard Training Manual issued by the bBureau. 

(d) No employee may be assigned to work until he or she has they have completed the course 
referred to in subsection (a). 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581, 7583.6 and 7591.2 7596.1, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.6, 7583.7, 7598.1, and 7598.2, Business and 
Professions Code; and Section 26030, Penal Code. 
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Amend Section 629 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 629. Qualifications and Experience for Alarm Company Operators. 

An applicant for a license as an alarm company operator, or his or her their manager, shall 
have had at least two years of experience as an alarm company agent or the equivalent 
thereof as determined by the sChief. 

Authority cited: Section 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference cited: 
Section 7590.5, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 630 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 630. Untrue or Misleading Statements by an Alarm Company Operator. 

"Untrue or misleading statements" include, but are not limited to, a representation by an alarm 
company operator or agent that: 

(a) an alarm system is: "Underwriters Laboratory approved or listed" (UL approved or listed) 
unless the entire system, and not only one or more components, is in fact, UL approved or 
listed; 

(b) an alarm system is insurance approved, police approved or approved by the Department of 
Defense, unless in fact such approval has been obtained in writing 

Authority cited: Section 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
7599.55, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 631.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 631.1. Possession of a Firearms Permit. 

A firearms permit holder must carry his or her valid Bureau-issued firearms permit on his or her 
their person while carrying a firearm in the course of his or her their duties. The permit must be 
shown to any peace officer or Bureau representative upon demand. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 7542, 7583.3 and 7597.1, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 632 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 632. Firearms Qualification Card. 

(a) The bBureau shall issue a firearms qualification card to an applicant where all of the 
following conditions exist: 

(1) The applicant is a licensed private investigator, alarm company operator, private 
patrol operator or registered employee of such a licensee or is employed or 
compensated by a lawful business or public agency as a security guard or patrolperson; 

(2) The applicant has filed with the bBureau a completed application for a firearms 
qualification card on a form prescribed by the bBureau, dated and signed by the 
applicant under penalty of perjury that the information in the application is true and 
correct; 

(3) The application is accompanied by: 

(A) Payment of the firearms qualification fee prescribed by Sections 639, 640 and 
641 655.5. 

(B) Proof, satisfactory to the bBureau, of successful completion of a course 
approved by the bBureau in the carrying and use of a firearm. Including: 

1. Proof of successful passage of a written examination prescribed by the 
bBureau. Such examination shall be based on information required to be 
taught pursuant to Section 697 635; and 

2. Proof of qualifying on an approved firearm range with the caliber of 
weapon to be used by the applicant pursuant to Section 694 635. 

(4) The bBureau has determined, after investigation, that the carrying and use of a 
firearm by the applicant in the course of his or her their duties presents no apparent 
threat to the public safety 

(b) The firearms qualification card, when issued, shall be mailed to the applicant at the address 
which appears on the application. In the event of the loss or destruction of the card the 
cardholder may apply to the Chief for a certified replacement for the card, stating the 
circumstances surrounding the loss, and pay a $2.00 certification fee the replacement fee set 
forth by Sections 7570, 7588, and 7599.70 of the Code whereupon the Chief shall issue a 
certified replacement for such card. 
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(c) A firearms qualification card does not authorize the holder thereof to carry a concealed 
weapon as that term is defined in Penal Code Section 12050. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.12, 7596.3, 7580-and 7599.40, Business and Professions 
Code: and Sections 12031, 12033 and 12050, Penal Code. 

Amend Section 634 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 634. Records of Firearms. 

Pursuant to Business and Profession Code Section 7583.2 of the Code, the required firearm 
records shall contain the following information: make, model and serial number of the firearm 
or a description of any other deadly weapon, the name of the person who has title of 
ownership, the name of each person authorized to possess a firearm, or other deadly weapon 
and evidence that such person is proficient in the use of the particular caliber of firearm or the 
particular deadly weapon which the person carries, uses or possesses. Such records shall be 
retained for a period of not less than two years. All such records shall be available for 
inspection by the bBureau at the licensee's principal place of business and copies shall be 
submitted to the bBureau upon request. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.32, 7596.7 and 7599.40, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 635 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 635. Course of Firearm Training. 

(a) Each applicant for an initial firearms permit shall complete classroom training related to the 
use of firearms, as outlined below, and complete and successfully pass an examination. 
Classroom training shall be conducted through traditional classroom instruction by a Bureau-
approved Firearms Training Instructor at a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Facility. The 
following outline includes the minimum subjects which shall be taught and the minimum length 
of time which shall be devoted to each subject. Classroom training shall be completed before 
range training and before any attempt at range qualification. 

FIREARMS TRAINING OUTLINE 
Recommended Instruction Sequence 

Subject and Objective 
Length of Time

I. Registration (Classroom) 
A. Administration. 1/2 hour 
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Objective: to enroll individual in course. 
1. Check individual identification 
. Check individual's Bureau registration status 

3. Course admission and discussion 
B. Laws and regulations for issuing a firearms permit. 

Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the laws, 1/2 hour
regulations, other requirements, and the administrative process for 
ssuing a firearms permit and renewals. 

Il. Moral and Legal Aspects (Classroom) 
A. Laws regarding possession and carrying of firearms. 

Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the applicable laws 
relating to the possession and carrying of firearms while working as an 
armed security guard. 1/2 hour 
1. Penal Code sections 
2. Government Code sections 
3. Bureau statutes and regulations 
4. Instructor examples 

B. Laws and standards regarding use of deadly force. 
Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the meaning of 
deadly force, the standards for using deadly force, the applicable laws 
relating to the use of deadly force and the consequences of not 
properly using deadly force or violating the standards and requirements 2 hoursfor use of a weapon. 
1. Penal Code sections 
2. Government Code sections 
3. Bureau statutes and regulations 
. Instructor examples 

C. Avoidance of deadly force - The de-escalation of force. 
Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the role of the 2 hours
firearms permit holder, the role that deadly force may play and when 
and how to de-escalate the use of deadly force. 

D. Shooting incidents. 
Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on what is likely to 1 hourhappen in a shooting incident and how a firearms permit holder should 
act to minimize the use of deadly force 

E. Effects of firearms use 
Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on how and why bullets 1/2 hour 
travel and what implications this has on the use of deadly force. 

Ill. Firearms Nomenclature, Maintenance (Classroom) 
A. The revolver and semi-automatic, ammunition, parts and nomenclature. 1 hour 

Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the principles and 
operation of weapons, the differences between weapons and how to 
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care for a weapon. 
1. Picture of revolver and semi-automatic with parts identified 
2. Revolver and semi-automatic, parts and description 
3. Picture of ammunition with parts identified 
4. Ammunition parts and description 

B. Firearms safety, general. 
Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on how to safely fire, 
wear and store the weapon while on the firing range, or on duty or off 
duty. 
1. General safety rules 
2. Specific safety rules 
3. Safety at home and off duty 
4. Transporting the weapon to the range 
5. Carrying the weapon on duty 

1 hour6. Suggested eye and ear protective equipment. 
7. Inspection, cleaning, and maintenance 

a. General information 
b. Inspection 
c. Cleaning 
d. Cleaning kit 
e. To clean the weapon 
f. Check list 

IV. Weapon Handling and Shooting Fundamentals. 
Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the fundamentals of 
marksmanship and the handling of weapons. 

A. Weapon fundamentals, general differences between handguns 
B. Loading/Unloading 

1. Proper loading procedures 
2. Proper loading procedures (right handed) 
3. Proper unloading procedures (right handed) 
4. Proper loading procedures (left handed) 
5. Proper unloading procedures (left handed) 

1 hour6. Loading devices 
C. Proper positions 

1. Point shoulder position 
2. Standing, barricade or supported position 
3. Kneeling position 
4. Sitting position 
5. Prone position 
6. Cover and concealment 
7. Bouncing bullets 
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D. Grip 
1. Two-handed grip 

E. The draw 
1. General information 
2. The holster and the draw 

F. Shooting Fundamentals 
1. Sight alignment 
2. Trigger squeeze (control) 

a. Single action 
b. Double action 
c. Count your shots 
d. Anticipation 
e. Dry firing 

3. Establishing the Dominant Eye 
V. Examination 1 hour 

(b) In addition to completing and successfully passing an examination related to the use of 
firearms, each applicant for an initial firearms permit shall complete range training as outlined 
below. Range training shall be conducted by a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Instructor 
at a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Facility. 

Range Training Outline 
VI. Range Preparation (Classroom). 
Objective: individual will review range safety and the fundamentals of 
marksmanship and deployment of weapons. In addition, the individual will review 
requirements for the use of deadly force. 

A. Range location 
1 hourB. Equipment needed 

C. Course of fire (explanation) 
D. Targets, scoring explanation 
E. Range commands (explanation) 
F. Use of deadly force 

VII. Range Training. 
Objective: to instruct individual in the safe and accurate use of a firearm until 
such time as the individual demonstrates to the instructor that he or or she they 
can safely draw and fire the weapon and has a high likelihood of passing the 

As neededqualification course. 
A. Instructions 
B. Drawing and holstering practice 
C. Dry firing 
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D. Loading and reloading procedures 

(c) After completing both classroom-based firearms training and range training, each applicant 
for an initial firearms permit shall complete range qualification. The applicant's initial range 
qualification shall only be completed by firing live ammunition and shall not be completed with 
a firearm simulator. The applicant must complete each range qualification with the same 
caliber of weapon that will be listed on the firearms permit and carried by the permit holder 
while on duty. If the applicant seeks to qualify for more than one caliber of weapon, the 
applicant must complete a range qualification for each additional caliber to be listed on the 
firearms permit. Each Range qualification shall be conducted by a Bureau-approved Firearms 
Training Instructor at a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Facility. 

VIII. Range Qualification. 
Objective: individual shall pass firearms qualification based on his or her their demonstrated 
use of weapon. 

A. Course of fire. Each individual shall discharge 50 rounds a minimum of 2 times 
according to the following schedule: (All stages are unsupported.) 

Stage 1 15 yards 6 rounds in 30 seconds 
*6 standing position 
14 rounds in 45 seconds 

Stage 2 7 yards (includes 2 reloads) (load 6,6 and 2) 
*6 standing position 

Stage 3 7 yards 
*8 kneeling position 
6 rounds in 10 seconds (any position) 

12 rounds in 25 seconds 

Stage 4 7 yards 
(includes reload) (load 6 and 6) 
6 strong hand unsupported 
(reload and switch hands) 
*6 weak hand unsupported 

Stage 5 5 yards 6 rounds 
*3 rounds in 4 seconds (2 stages) 

Stage 6 3 yards 6 rounds 
*2 rounds in 3 seconds (3 stages) 

3. Scoring. The first course of 50 rounds discharged shall be considered practice. The 
second course of 50 rounds discharged shall be used for scoring 

1. Silhouette targets shall be used. A 5 point score shall be granted for each 
round discharged inside of the seven (7) ring (center mass) as specified in 
Section 635.1. 
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2. Each individual shall qualify with an 80% score (200 out of 250 points) on the 
scoring segment. 

3. Each individual shall be informed whether his or her their score passes or fails. 

(d) A Bureau-approved Firearms Training Instructor conducting the range qualification must 
certify under penalty of perjury that an initial firearms permit applicant completed the required 
range qualification using live ammunition and provide a signed copy of the qualification 
documentation to the applicant. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581, 7585, 7585.6 and 7591.6, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.22, 7583.23, 7583.37, 7596, 7596.3 and 7599.40, 
Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 636 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 636. Course Approval. 

(a) Institutions, firms, or persons wishing approval of the bBureau to offer a course in the 
carrying and usage of firearms must apply in writing to the bBureau and include the following 
information: 

(1) A detailed outline of the course. 

(2) the name of the instructor and a description of his or her their qualifications, and 

(3) places and dates where the course will be offered, length of the course, and an estimate of 
the maximum number of persons who will take the course. 

(b) Such information must be supplied to the Bureau at least two months before the course is 
to be given. A course will not be approved that enrolls students prior to approval by the 
Bureau. 

(c) Approval of a course may be withdrawn by the Bureau in writing. 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591,2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7585.4, 7585.5, 7585.6 and 7585.7, Business and Professions Code. 
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Amend Section 637 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 637. Suspension or Revocation. 

Any use of a firearm by a holder of a Firearms Qualification Card which is in violation of law or 
in knowing violation of the standards for carrying and usage of firearms as taught in the course 
of training in the carrying and use of firearms may be grounds for suspension or revocation of 
the holder's Firearms Qualification Card 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.27591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 7561.1, 7587.1 and 7599.61, Business and Professions Code 

Amend Section 637.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 637.1. Definition. 

For purposes of this article, "registered employee" means any person who is required by the 
bBureau's regulations to be registered with the bBureau or who is required to complete 
courses of training in powers to arrest and in the carrying and use of firearms as a condition of 
becoming eligible to carry a deadly weapon-pursuant to Penal Code Section 12031(d) 

Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code; 
Sections 12031, 12033, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.22 and 7596, Business 
and Professions Code, and Sections 12031, 12033, Penal Code. 

Amend Section 643 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 643. Skills Training Course for Security Guards. 

(a) The course of skills training for registered security guards shall follow the standards 
prescribed by section 7583.6(b) of the Business and Professions Code. The attached 
Appendix sets forth the subjects that shall be taught and the maximum number of hours that 
shall be allowed towards meeting required training. 

(b) For each course, or series of courses, the institution or company providing the training shall 
issue a Certificate of Completion to the individual completing the course. The certificate shall 
identify the course(s) taken, the number of hours of training provided, identification of the 
issuing entity, name of the individual and instructor and a date, and state that the course(s) 
comply with the Department of Consumer Affairs' Skills Training Course for Security Guards. 
The certificate shall be serially numbered for tracking. 
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Authority cited: Section 7581, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7583.6 
and 7583.7, Business and Professions Code. 

Appendix 

1. Power to Arrest Course Outline 
The Power to Arrest Course consists of four (4) hours of training in both of the following two (2) 
subjects: 

A. Powers to Arrest- 4 hours 

Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual on the training topics delineated at 
Business and Professions Code section 7583.7, including, without limitation, legal aspects, 
techniques, liability, and company requirements relating to the arrest of an individual. The 
training will utilize the Department of Consumer Affairs' Power to Arrest Training Manual and 
may include lecture, discussion, exercises and role-playing. 

1. Overview of Power to Arrest Manual and subject matter. 
2. Definition of arrest and discussion on the implications to the subject, the guard and the 
company. 
3. Lecture/discussion on escalation and de-escalation techniques in the use of force. 
4. Lecture/discussion in the use of restraint techniques and their implications. 
5. Discussion of trespass laws and implications of enforcement. 
6. Completion of the Power to Arrest Training Manual Test with 100% score in accordance with 
the Manual's Administering Instructions. 

B. Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) & Terrorism Awareness- 4 hours 

Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual on the subject matter and observation skills 
required to identify and report precursor activities to a terrorist event, react appropriately, 
report the occurrence of a terrorist event, and remain safe while helping control the scene after 
a terrorist event. The training will utilize the Department of Consumer Affairs' Weapons of 
Mass Destruction & Terrorism Awareness for Security Professionals course consisting of a 
Digital Video Disk (DVD), Student Workbook and Facilitator Manual. 

1. Introduction and overview of training. 
2. The Role of a Security Officer 
3. The Nature of Terrorism. 
4. Weapons of Mass Destruction. 
5. Coordinating and Sharing of Critical Information 

Il. Mandatory Outline of Courses 
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Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual in basic skills and provide a common body 
of knowledge in the performance of security guard work. All courses shall include information 
and subject matter pertaining to the outline provided. Additionally, all courses shall include 
written material, lecture or exercises to assure that the individual comprehends the subject 
matter presented. Every newly licensed or employed security guard shall complete two of the 
mandatory courses within thirty (30) days from the day the guard's registration card is issued 
or the day the guard begins employment. The remaining two mandatory courses each 
consisting of four (4) hours of instruction, shall be completed within the first six (6) months from 
the day the guard registration card is issued or the day the guard begins employment as a 

security guard. Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 7583.6(b) of the Code, the 
following outline includes subjects that shall be taught and the maximum number of hours that 
will be allowed for completion of the Mandatory Courses. 

A. Public Relations (Community & Customer)- 4 hours 
1. Recognizing Gender & Racial Harassment & Discrimination 
2. Respect: 

Stereotyping 
Attitude 

3. Verbal Skills / Crisis Intervention 
4. Introduction to Diversity 
5. Substance Abuse & Mental Illness 
6. Ethics & Professionalism 

Appearance 
Command Presence 

. Proper Conduct 

B. Observation & Documentation- 4 hours 
1. Report Writing 
2. English as a Second Language 
3. Observation and Patrol Techniques 
4. Asking Appropriate Questions 
5. Observing Suspects/Suspicious Activity 

C. Communication and its Significance- 4 hours 
1. Internal 

Protocols Pursuant to Contract (Who to Contact & When) 
Radio / Monitors 

. Other Technology 
2. External 

Emergency/First Responders 
Medical Personnel 
. Police / Sheriff / Other Enforcement 
City Services / Government Services 

D. Liability / Legal Aspects- 4 hours 
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1. Personal / Contractor / Employer 
2. Criminal, Civil, Administrative 
3. BSIS Code & Regulations 
4. Role of a Security Guard 

Ill. Elective Course Outlines 

Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual in basic employer requirements relating to 
the performance of guard duties. Additionally, to provide the employer and the individual with 
the opportunity to select additional course work to improve the skills and knowledge of the 
individual. The listed courses should include a mixture of written materials, lecture and 
exercises. The hours listed are the maximum number of hours that will be accepted as part of 
the 16 hours of elective training mandated by the Business and Professions Code section 
Section 7583.6 of the Code. Every newly licensed security guard shall complete a minimum of 
eight (8) hours of elective courses within thirty (30) days from the day the security guard's 
registration card is issued or the day the guard begins employment. An additional eight (8) 
hours of elective courses shall be completed within the first six (6) months from the day the 
security guard's registration card is issued or the day the guard begins employment. Pursuant 
to Business and Professions Code Section 7583.6(b) of the Code, the following outline 
includes subjects that shall be taught and the maximum number of hours that will be allowed 
for completion of the elective courses. 

A. Post Orders & Assignments- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Site Specific Training 

2. Equipment 
Monitoring 
Communication 

. Alarms 
Elevators, Etc. 

3. Emergency Response Issues 
4. Liability Implications 
5. Lost / Found Articles 

B. Employer Policies / Orientation- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Employer Reports / Paperwork 
2. Reporting Processes / Procedures 
3. Tax Forms, Health Forms, Etc. 
4. Uniforms 
5. Work Schedules 
6. Other Internal Policies, Processes or Procedures 
7. Employer Use of Force Policy 

C. Evacuation Procedures- 2 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Emergency Procedures Related to Life, Safety and Acts of Nature 
2. Working Knowledge of Evacuation Routes 
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Stairs 
Elevators 

Doors 
3. Power Outage 
4. Specific Points of Contact 

D. Officer Safety- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Threat Assessment 
2. Subject Contact 
3. Safety Awareness 
4. Blood Born Pathogens 
5. Environmental/Hazardous Materials 

E. Arrests, Search & Seizure (more advanced than PTA course)- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. PC 836, 837 & the Differences 
2. US Constitution & Amendments Impacting Guard Responsibilities 
3. Loss Prevention 
4. Merchant Law 
5. Use of Force 

F. Access Control- 2 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Identification Procedures 
2. Electronic Use/CCTV 
3. Non-electronic procedures 

G. Trespass- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Open Land 

2. Private Property 
3. Private Building 
4. Public Property 
5. Places of Public Accommodation/Public Access 

H. Laws, Codes, Regulations and Ordinances- 2 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Specific to Post Assignment 

I. First Aid / CPR- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. American Red Cross 

2. American Heart Association Courses 
3. Automatic Defibrillator Devices (AED's) 

J. Handling Difficult People- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Communications 
2. Conflict Management 
3. Speaking Constructively 
4. Valuing Diversity 
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5. Negotiating 
6. Verbal Diffusion 

K. Work Place Violence- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Detecting Unusual Behavior/Warning Signs 

Worker to Worker 
Client to Customer 
Supervisor to Subordinate 

2. Anger Management 
3. Valuing Diversity 
4. Personal Security 
5. Reporting 

L. Chemical Agents- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Tear Gas Use and Effects 
2. Pepper Spray Use and Effects 
3. Air Borne Chemical Agents 
4. Water Borne Chemical Agents 

M. Preserving the Incident Scene- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Identifying Evidence 
2. Care and Handling of Evidence 
3. Securing the Immediate Area 
4. Legal Issues to Evidence Tampering and/or Removal 
5. Witness/Participant Identification 

N. Crowd Control- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Controlling Boisterous Celebrations 
2. Handling Disputes 
3. Confronting Conflicts Constructively 
4. Planning for Civil Disobedience/Disturbances 
5. Labor Actions, Disputes, Workplace Stoppages 

O. Driver Safety- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Cars 
2. Bicycles 
3. Golf Carts 

P. Supervision 4 Hrs. Maximum 
1. Roles and Responsibilities 
2. Legal Liability 

Q. Courtroom Demeanor 4 Hrs. Maximum 

R. Parking / Traffic Control 2 Hrs. Maximum 
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S. Radio Procedures 2 Hrs. Maximum 

T. BSIS's Certified Course in Firearms Training 8 Hrs. Maximum 

U. BSIS's Certified Course in Baton Training 4 Hrs. Maximum 

V. School Security Guard Training 8 Hrs. Maximum 
(In compliance with Bureau developed Training Syllabus) 

W. Introduction to Executive Protection 4 Hrs. Maximum 

X. Annual Firearms Requalification 4 Hrs. Maximum 

Y. Fire Safety Course 4 Hrs. Maximum 

Z. Course in the Use of a Stun Gun or Air Taser 4 Hrs. Maximum 

IV. Continuing Education 

Objective: To provide additional or remedial instruction in private security subject matter. The 
continuing education requirement, of an additional 8 hours annually pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code Section 7583.6 (f)(1) (e) of the Code, commenced on January 5, 2005. The 
annual training may be provided by an independent training entity or may be provided by the 
employer. Employer provided training must be supported by evaluation of the licensed guards' 
skills. The annual training may repeat previous course(s) or may provide additional course(s) 
on topics applicable to private security work. The Mandatory and Elective courses with 4 hour 
maximum time limitations for the initial Skills Training Course For Security Guards may be 
expanded in depth to 8 hour courses, with the exception of the WMD and Terrorism 
Awareness, to meet the annual training hours. Additionally, training in use of specific types of 
batons or a four (4) hour refresher course every other year may also be utilized to meet the 
continuing education requirements. For each course completed, the training entity or company 
providing the training shall issue a Certificate of Completion to the individual completing the 
course in compliance with the appearance requirements stated in Title 16, California Code of 
Regulations, Section 643(b). 

Amend Section 645 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
follows: 

$ 645. Skills Training Course for Proprietary Private Security Officers. 

(a) The course for Proprietary Private Security Officers shall follow the standards prescribed by 
sSection 7574.18 of the Business and Professions Code. The following sections set forth the 
subjects that shall be taught and the minimum number of hours to meet the required training. 
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b) For each course, or series of courses, the institution or company providing the training shall 
issue a Certificate of Completion to the individual completing the course. The certificate shall 
identify the type of course(s) taken, the number of hours of training provided, identification of 
the issuing entity, name of the individual taking the course, the instructor administering the 
course, and the date the course(s) was administered and completed. The Certificate of 
Completion must also state that the course(s) comply with the Department of Consumer 
Affairs' Skills Training Course for Proprietary Private Security Officers. The certificate shall be 
serially numbered for tracking purposes. 

(c) The Power to Arrest section of the course shall consist of a minimum of four hours of 
training. Two hours shall consist of Power to Arrest training. The training shall utilize the 
Department of Consumer Affairs' Power to Arrest Training Manual and may include lecture, 
discussion, exercises and roleplaying. The additional two hours shall consist of the Department 
of Consumer Affairs' Weapons of Mass Destruction and Terrorism Awareness Training for 
Security Professionals. The course consists of a Digital Video Disc (DVD) and a Compact Disc 
(CD) containing the Facilitator Guide and Student Workbook. 

A minimum of 12 hours must be spent covering the courses listed under sections II through VI 
of subsection (d). The complete course of training shall consist of a minimum of 16 hours and 
shall be completed within the first six months from either the date of employment or date of 
ssuance of the proprietary private security officer's registration. 
'd) Proprietary Private Security Officer Training Courses I thru VI 

I. POWER TO ARREST: 

A. Overview and Origin of Authority to Detain and Arrest- 2 Hour Minimum 
1. Overview and Origin of Authority to Detain and Arrest 
2. Definition of a Detention 
3. Definition of an Arrest 
4. What is a Private Citizen's Arrest 
5. Use of Force 

a. Legal 
b. Employer Policy 

6. Search and Seizure 
a. 4th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution 
b. Acting as a Law Enforcement Agent 
c. Discovering Contraband 

7. Definition of Private/Public Property 
a. Jurisdiction 
b. Trespass 

B. Terrorism Awareness Weapons of Mass Destruction Training for Security 
Professionals- 2 Hour Minimum 

1. Introduction and Overview of the Training 
2. The Role of a Security Officer 
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3. The Nature of Terrorism 
4. Weapons of Mass Destruction 
5. Coordinating and Sharing of Critical Information 

Sections II through VI- 12 Hour Minimum 

II. ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
1. Definition of Proprietary 

a. Employed by Company 
b. Distinctive Uniform 
c. Unarmed 
d. Interact with Public 

2. General 
a. Private Citizen 
b. Authority Originates from Company 
c. Service Oriented 
d. Employer Specific Policy 

III. PUBLIC AND EMPLOYER EXPECTATIONS 
1. Ethics 
2. Professionalism 
3. Job Conduct 
4. Cultural Awareness 
5. Sexual Harassment 

IV. LIABILITY ISSUES 
1. Overview of Civil Law, Criminal Law and Torts 

a. Personal 
b. Employer 

2. Bureau of Security and Investigative Services Laws and Regulations 
3. Explanation of a Duty to Care 

a. Reasonable Expectation for a "Safe Environment" 
b. Employer Specific 

4. Explanation of Negligence 
5. Examples of Common Liabilities 
6. Accurate Reporting/Documentation 

V. COMMUNICATION/CONFLICT MANAGEMENT 
1. Interpersonal Communications Skills 

a. Approach 
b. Body Language 
c. Listening 
d. Empathy. 

2. Situational Awareness 
a. Environment 
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b. Positioning 
c. Subjects 

3. Managing Disputes 
4. Diffusing/De-escalation of Situations 
5. Reacting to Violent Incidents 

a. lypes 
b. Law Enforcement Notification 

VI. EMERGENCY PROCEDURES 
1. Emergencies Related to Acts of Nature 
2. Emergencies Related to Acts of Persons 
3. Overview of Public Expectation during an Emergency 
4. Explanation of Emergency Plans 
5. Explanation of Emergency Evacuation Plans 

I. Total hours 16 Hour Minimum 

(e). CONTINUED EDUCATION 2 Hour Minimum 

OBJECTIVE: To provide additional or remedial instruction in proprietary private security 
subject matter. The annual continuing education requirement in Business and Professions 
Code-Section 7574.18 of the Code shall be two hours. The annual training shall be provided by 
the employer. The employer may administer the training in-house or it may be administered by 
an independent training entity. The annual training may be a repeat of a previous course if the 
employer's evaluation shows that the employee is deficient in skills or capabilities. Training 
may consist of any security related course. For each course completed, the training entity or 
company providing the training shall issue a Certificate of Completion to the individual 
completing the course(s) in compliance with the requirements stated in Title 16, California 
Code of Regulations, Section 645(b). 

Authority cited: Section 7574.05, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
7574.18, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Authority cited: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 7503, 7526, 7582.8 and 7593, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 601.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: 
	$ 601.1. Time and Place of Examinations. 
	Examinations shall be given at least once every two months at such places and on such dates as the Chief may from time to time fix. The bBureau shall mail to each applicant who has been approved to take an examination a notice of the date, time and place of the examination. Such notice shall be sent by regular mail to the home address shown on the application not 
	later than two weeks prior thereto. 
	Authority cited: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 7504, 7504.5, 7527, 7582.8, 7582.9 and 7599, Business and Professions 
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	Bureau of Security and 
	Bureau of Security and 
	Bureau of Security and 
	Proposed Language 
	Page 1 of 34 

	Investigative Services 
	Investigative Services 

	Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Section 100 
	1/28/21 


	Authority cited: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 7504.4, 7511, 7527.5, 7570, 7582.10, 7588, 7599.7 and 7599.70, 
	Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 601.3 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: 
	$ 601.3. Abandonment of Applications, 
	If an applicant fails to complete his or her application within one year after it has been filed, or 
	fails to take and pass the examination within a one year period after becoming eligible therefor, 
	the application shall be deemed abandoned. Any application submitted subsequent to the 
	abandonment of a former application shall be treated as a new application and must be filed in 
	accordance with Section 601. 
	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and 
	Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.25, 7504.6, 7523, 7526, 7582.8, 7583.28, and 7593, Business and Professions Code. 
	Repeal Section 601.4 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations: 
	$ 601.4. Permit Processing Times. 
	"Permit" as defined by the Permit Reform Act of 1981 means any license, certificate, registration, permit or any other form of authorization required by a state agency to engage in a particular activity or act. Processing times for the bureau's various programs are set forth below. The actual processing times apply to these persons who take and pass the first actual 
	available examination. 
	An application is deemed complete if all required fees and supporting documentation have been submitted, and, where applicable, fingerprint clearances have been received from either 
	the Department of Justice of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
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	Alarm Go. Operator 
	Alarm Go. Operator 
	Alarm Go. Operator 
	60 days 
	120 days 
	Minimum 10 days 
	Median 70 days 
	Maximum 229 days 

	ACO Renewal 30 days Alarm Co. Branch 30 days ACB Renewal 30 days Alarm Co. Qual. 60-days Cert 
	ACO Renewal 30 days Alarm Co. Branch 30 days ACB Renewal 30 days Alarm Co. Qual. 60-days Cert 
	60 days 60 days 60 days 120 days 
	4 days 1 day 3 days 46 days 
	8 days 77 days 12 days 98 days 
	76 days 235 days 333 days 316 days 

	ACQ Renewal Alarm Agent Alarm Agent Renewal 
	ACQ Renewal Alarm Agent Alarm Agent Renewal 
	30 days 30 days 30 days 
	60 days 120 days 60 days 
	2 days 36 days 4 days 
	3 days 76 days 6 days 
	118 days 236-days 64 days 

	Alarm Photo ID Priv. Patrol Oper. License 
	Alarm Photo ID Priv. Patrol Oper. License 
	30 days 60 days 
	30 days 120 days 
	16 days 4 days 
	36 days 99 days 
	187 days 324 days 

	PPO Renewal PPO Branch License 
	PPO Renewal PPO Branch License 
	30 days 30 days 
	60 days 60-days 
	1 day 2 days 
	12 days 13 days 
	74 days 172 days 

	PPO Branch Renewal 
	PPO Branch Renewal 
	30 days 
	60 days 
	4 day 
	14 days 155 days 

	See. Guard Registration 
	See. Guard Registration 
	60-days 
	120 days 
	35 days 
	55 days 137 days 

	See. Guard Renewal 
	See. Guard Renewal 
	30 days 
	60 days 
	4 day 
	8 days 
	48-days 

	Private Investigator 60 days PI Renewal 30 days PI Branch 30 days PI Branch Renewal 30 days Repossessor 60 days License 
	Private Investigator 60 days PI Renewal 30 days PI Branch 30 days PI Branch Renewal 30 days Repossessor 60 days License 
	120 days 60 days 60 days 60 days 120-days 
	20 days 3 days 1 day 1 day 1 day 
	126 days 265 days 14 days 48 days 14 days 250 days 8 days 177 days 50-days 165 days 

	Repe. Renewal Repo. Qual. Certificate 
	Repe. Renewal Repo. Qual. Certificate 
	30 days 60 days 
	60 days 120 days 
	3 days 40 days 
	10 days 47 days 81 days 323 days 

	Repo. QC Renewal 30-days Repo Employee 45 days Regis. 
	Repo. QC Renewal 30-days Repo Employee 45 days Regis. 
	60 days 120-days 
	1 day 3 days 
	9 days 47 days 
	42 days 170 days 

	Registration Renewal 
	Registration Renewal 
	30 days 
	60 days 
	4 day 
	7 days 
	30 days 

	Training Facility Baton 
	Training Facility Baton 
	60-days 
	120 days 
	4 day 
	21 days 97 days 

	TFB Renewal Instructor Gert.-Baton 
	TFB Renewal Instructor Gert.-Baton 
	30 days 60 days 
	60 days 120 days 
	5 days 2 days 
	19 days 82 days 31 days 154 days 
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	Cert. Renewal-
	Cert. Renewal-
	Cert. Renewal-
	30 days 
	60 days 
	2 days 
	17 days 161 days 

	Baton 
	Baton 

	Training Fac.-
	Training Fac.-
	60 days 
	120 days 
	3 days 
	16 days 116 days 

	Firearms 
	Firearms 

	IFF Renewal 
	IFF Renewal 
	30 days 
	60 days 
	3 days 
	15 days 215 days 

	Instructor Cert.-
	Instructor Cert.-
	60 days 
	120-days 
	6 days 
	30 days 177 days 

	Firearm 
	Firearm 

	Cert. Renewal-
	Cert. Renewal-
	30 days 
	60 days 
	2 days 
	16 days 104 days 

	Firearm 
	Firearm 

	Firearm Permit Firearm Permit 
	Firearm Permit Firearm Permit 
	60 days 30 days 
	120 days 60 days 
	51 days 8 days 
	91 days 244 days 12 days 60 days 

	Renewal 
	Renewal 

	Locksmith Permit Lock. Permit 
	Locksmith Permit Lock. Permit 
	60 days 30 days 
	120 days 60 days 
	18 days 4 day 
	53 days 152 days 10 days 58 days 

	Renewal 
	Renewal 


	Authority cited: Sections-6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 15374, 15375, 15376, 15377 and 15378, Government Code. 
	Amend Section 601.6 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 601.6. Citations for Unlicensed Persons. 
	(a) The Chief or his or her their designee may issue a citation, in accordance with section 148 
	of the Business and Professions Code against any unlicensed person who is acting in the capacity of a licensee, registrant, permit holder, or certificate holder under the jurisdiction of the Bureau and who is not otherwise exempt from licensure. Each citation may contain an assessment of an administrative fine up to $5,000 and, where appropriate, an order of abatement fixing a reasonable period of time not to exceed 30 days for abatement. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 Any sanction authorized for activity under this section shall be separate from and in addition to any other civil or criminal remedies. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 In addition, the Chief or his or her their designee may issue a citation, in accordance with sections 148 and 149 of the Code against any person who advertises, as defined in subdivision (g) of section 600.1, without a license. 


	Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05, 7574.30 and 7581, 
	Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.10, 7574.12. 
	7574.30 and 7582, Business and Professions Code. 
	7574.30 and 7582, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 601.7 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 601.7. Citation Factors for Unlicensed Person. 
	The following factors shall be considered when determining the amount of an administrative fine: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 The good or bad faith exhibited by the cited person. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 The nature and severity of the violation. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Evidence that the violation was willful. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 History of violations of the same or similar nature. 

	(e)
	(e)
	 The extent to which the cited person has cooperated with the Bureau. 

	(f)
	(f)
	 The extent to which the cited person has mitigated or attempted to mitigate any damage or injury caused by his or her their violation. 

	g)
	g)
	 Any other factors as justice may require. Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05. 7574.30 and 7581, 


	Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.30 and 7582, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 601.8 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: $ 601.8. Citation Format for Unlicensed Persons. Each citation: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Shall be in writing. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Shall describe with particularity the nature of the violation, including specific reference to 


	the provision of the Act or regulation contained in this division determined to have been violated. 
	(c) May contain an assessment of an administrative fine, an order of abatement fixing a reasonable period of time not to exceed 30 days for abatement, or both an administrative fine and an order of abatement. 
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	(d) Shall inform the cited person that, if he or she they desires a hearing to contest the finding 
	of a violation, that hearing shall be requested by written notice to the Bureau within thirty (30) days of the issuance of the citation or assessment. 
	(e) Shall inform the cited person if he or she they desires an informal conference with the Chief or his or her their designee to contest the finding of a violation, that the informal conference shall be requested by written notice to the Bureau within ten (10) days of the issuance of the 
	citation or assessment. 
	(f) Shall be served upon the cited person personally or by certified mail. 
	Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05, 7574.30 and 7581, 
	Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.30 and 7582, 
	Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 601.9 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 601.9. Compliance with Order of Abatement for Unlicensed Persons. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 The time allowed for abatement of a violation shall begin the first day after the order of abatement has been served. If a cited person who has been issued an order of abatement is unable to complete the correction within the time set forth in the citation because of conditions beyond his or her their control after the exercise of reasonable diligence, the person cited may request an extension of time in which to complete the correction from the Chief or his or her their designee. Such a request shall be i

	(b)
	(b)
	 When an order of abatement is not contested or if the order is appealed and the person or entity cited does not prevail, failure to abate the violation charged within the time specified in the citation shall constitute a violation and failure to comply with the order of abatement. 


	Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05, and 7581, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520, 7574.30 and 7582, Business and Professions Code 
	Amend Section 601.10 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 601.10. Contest of Citations for Unlicensed Persons. 
	(a) If a cited person wishes to contest the citation, assessment of the administrative fine, or order of abatement, the cited person shall, within thirty (30) days after service of the citation, 
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	file in writing a request for an administrative hearing to the Bureau regarding the acts charged n the citation, as provided for in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 125.9 of the Code. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 In addition to, or instead of, requesting an administrative hearing, as provided for in subdivision (b)(4) of Section 125.9 of the Code, the cited person may, within ten (10) days after service of the citation, contest the citation by submitting a written request for an informal citation conference to the Bureau. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Upon receipt of a written request for an informal citation conference, the Chief or his or her their designee shall, within thirty (30) days, hold an informal citation conference with the cited person. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 If an informal citation conference is held, the Chief or his or her their designee may affirm, 


	modify, or dismiss the citation, including any fine levied or order of abatement issued, at the conclusion of the informal citation conference. If affirmed or modified, the citation originally issued shall be considered withdrawn and an affirmed or modified citation, including reason for the decision, shall be issued. The affirmed or modified citation shall be mailed to the cited 
	person and his or her their legal counsel, if any, within fifteen (15) days from the date of the informal citation conference. 
	(e)
	(e)
	(e)
	 If a cited person wishes to contest an affirmed or modified citation, the person shall, within thirty (30) days of his or her their notification, file in writing a request for an administrative hearing to the Bureau regarding the acts charged in the affirmed or modified citation, in accordance with subdivision (b)(4) of Section 125.9 of the Code. 

	(f)
	(f)
	 A cited person may not request another informal conference for a citation which was modified or affirmed during an informal conference. 


	Authority cited: Sections 125.9, 148, 149, 6980.7, 7515, 7574.05 and 7581, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.10(a), 7520 and 7582, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 603 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 603. Scope of Article 1.5. 
	Except as otherwise provided therein, provisions contained in Article 1.5 of these regulations shall apply to persons licensed, registered or certified under Chapter 8.5 (Locksmiths), 11 (Repossessers-Collateral Recovery Act), 11.3 (Private Investigator Act), 11.4 (Proprietary Security Services Act), 11.5 (Private Investigator-Act-Private Security Services Act) and 11.6 (Alarm Company Act) of the Code. 
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	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7. 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 606 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 606. Filing of Addresses. 
	Except as otherwise specified in statute, each person applying for or issued a certificate, registration, permit or license under Chapters 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 11.6 of the Code shall: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 as required by the Code file his or her current address of record with the bBureau; 

	(b)
	(b)
	 within thirty (30) days of a change of address, notify the bBureau of the change, indicating both the old and new addresses; and 

	(c)
	(c)
	 not list a post office box or the address of a mailbox service as his or her their address of record unless mail delivery to the physical location of the residence or business is not possible and/or, in the case of a licensed business, the principal place of business is located in the licensee's personal residence. 

	(1)
	(1)
	 If the address of record listed is that of a mailbox service or a post office box, it must clearly be identified as such. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 If the principal place of business is a personal residence, and a post office box or the address of a mailbox service is listed as the address of record, the residence address must also be provided. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 The requirements of subsection (b) herein shall apply to any change of address, including, but not limited to, a change of post office box, mailbox service, or a change of business or residence location. 


	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 136, 6980.17, 6980.18, 6980.19, 6980.20, 6980.21, 7503, 7503.2, 7503.3, 7503.4, 7506.5, 7507.1, 7525.1, 7533, 7574.2, 7574.11, 7574.13, 7582.7, 7582.18, 7582.18, 7582.19, 7583.10, 7585.3, 7585.11, 7593, 7593.1, 7593.2, 7593.3, 7593.4, 7593.5, 7598.6 and 7599.23, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 607 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 607. Employee Records. 
	Each licensee shall maintain at the principal place of business or branch office a file or record of the name, address, commencing date of employment, and position of each employee, and the date when an employee is terminated. Such files or records shall be retained during the time of employment and for a period of not less than two years thereafter and, together with usual payroll records, shall be available for inspection by the bBureau. Copies thereof and information pertaining thereto or contained there
	request. 
	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.42, 7507.2, 7531.5, 7582.16, 7582.17 and 7591.7, Business and Professions Code 
	Amend Section 607.4 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 607.4. Assignment of License. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 A license issued under Chapter 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 11.6 of the Code is not assignable. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 "Assignable" refers to a quality or legal attribute which permits a thing to be transferred or negotiated. To say that a license is "not assignable" is to say that 

	(1)
	(1)
	 the rights, privileges and duties attached to the license may not be transferred from one person to another; and that 

	(2)
	(2)
	 no licensee may permit an employee or agent in his or her their own name to advertise, engage clients, furnish reports, render services, present bills to customers or in any manner conduct business for which a license is required under Chapter 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 


	11.6 
	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 6980.17, 6980.31, 7502, 7503.9, 7520, 7530, 7582, 7582.14, 7592, 7599.34 and 7599.47, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 607.5 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 607.5. Change of Ownership. 
	A licensee shall, within thirty (30) days after transferring his of her their interest in a licensed business, notify the bBureau in writing of the transfer. Such notification shall include the name 
	and mailing address of the new owner and the date upon which the transfer became effective. 
	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7502, 7503.9 7505.3, 7520, 7530, 7539, 7582, 7582.14, 7582.26, 7592, 7594.3 and 7599.34, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 608.3 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: 
	$ 608.3. Bureau-Issued Identification Card. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Licensees shall, at all times while in the course of their duties, maintain in their possession any bBureau-issued identification cards relevant to the duties being performed and issued under Chapters 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 and 11.6 of the Code and shall present them to any peace officer or bBureau representative upon demand. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 "Bureau-issued identification card," as used herein, refers to any card serving as verification of license, registration, permit or certification status and issued pursuant to Chapter 8.5, 11, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5 or 11.6 of the Code. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 In the event of the loss, destruction or theft of his or her a bBureau-issued identification card, the licensee shall within 72 hours: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 notify his or her their employer of the loss, and 

	(2)
	(2)
	 apply to the Chief for a certified replacement for the card, certifying under penalty of perjury as to the circumstances surrounding the loss, and remit a $10.00 per-card certification the replacement fee, whereupon the Chief shall issue a certified replacement. The replacement fee for the baton certificate is $5.00 per card. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 After applying for, but prior to receiving, a certified replacement card, the licensee or registrant shall carry the receipt from his or her their original card or other such documentation as may serve to verify certification, registration or licensing status. No documentation may be substituted for a valid firearms qualification card in meeting the requirements of Sections 7542, 


	and 7597.1 of the Code. 
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	(e) A person may work as a proprietary private security officer pending receipt of the registration card if he or she has they have been approved by the Bureau and carries on his of her carry on their person a hardcopy printout of the Bureau's approval from the Bureau's web site and a valid picture identification. 
	Authority cited: Sections 6980.7, 7501.6, 7515, 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 163, 6980.23, 7506.9, 7508.1, 7529, 7542, 7574.11, 7582.13, 7583.3, 7583.5, 7583.17, 7583.22, 7583.32, 7593.7, 7598.14, 7597.1 and 7598.51, 
	Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 620 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 620. Qualifications and Experience. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 At the time an application is filed, an applicant shall possess all qualifications required by applicable sections of Chapters 11.3, 11.5 and 11.6 of the Code or by these regulations. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 A year's experience shall consist of not less than 2,000 hours of actual compensated work performed by each applicant preceding the filing of an application. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Applicants shall substantiate claimed years and hours of qualifying experience and the exact details as to the character and nature thereof by written certifications from employers, subject to independent verification by the Director as he or she they may determine to be warranted. In the event of inability of applicants to supply such written certifications from employers in whole or in part, applicants may offer written certifications from persons other than employers covering the same subject matter for


	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7515, 7526, 7541, 7581, 7582.8, 7583.1, 7585.5, 7585.12, 7591.6 and 7593, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 621 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 621. Advertisement. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 The word "advertisement," as used in Sections 7534 and 7561.3 (a & b) of Chapter 11.3, Section 7582.20 of Chapter 11.5, and Sections 7590.1() (a) and 7599.44 of Chapter 11.6 mean: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Any written or printed communication for the purpose of soliciting, describing, or 


	promoting the licensed business of the licensee, including a brochure, letter, pamphlet, newspaper, periodical, publication or other writing. 
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	(2)
	(2)
	(2)
	 A directory listing caused or permitted by the licensee which indicates his or her theirlicensed activity. 

	(3)
	(3)
	 A radio, television or similar airwave transmission which solicits or promotes the licensed business of the licensee. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 The word "advertisement," as used in Sections 7534 and 7561.3 (a & b) of Chapter 11.3, Section 7582.20 of Chapter 11.5, and Sections 7590.1() (a) and 7599.44 of Chapter 11.6, shall not include the following: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 Any printing or writing used on buildings, vehicles, uniforms, badges, or other property where the purpose of the printing or writing is identification. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 Any printing or writing on communications, memoranda, or any other writings used in the ordinary course of business where the purpose of the writing is other than the solicitation or promotion of business 

	(3)
	(3)
	 Any printing or writing on novelty objects used in the promotion of the licensee's business where the printing of the information required by Sections 7534 and 7561.3 (a & b) of Chapter 11.3, Section 7582.20 of Chapter 11.5, and Sections 7590.1() (a) and 7599.44 of Chapter 11.6 would be impractical due to the available area or surface 


	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7534, 7535, 7561.3, 7582.20. 7582.21, 7590.1 and 7599.44, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 621.2 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 621.2. Dishonesty or Fraud. 
	As used in Sections 7561.4, 7587.4 and 7599.61 of the Code "dishonesty or fraud" includes, but is not limited to: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 Violation of Sections 212, 216, 222, or 223 of the Labor Code. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Failure to provide, where required by law, for workers' compensation insurance or, as an employer, to carry out the obligations imposed by the Unemployment Insurance Act Code. 


	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7561.4, 7587.4 and 7599.61, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 622 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 622. Branch Office Certificates. 
	Application to conduct business from any location other than the principal place of business shall be submitted on a form prescribed by the dDirector and accompanied by the fee prescribed. A branch office certificate shall be issued if it is established that the conditions of this Section and Section 7536 of Chapter 11.3, Section 7582.22 of Chapter 11.5 and Section 
	7599.25 of Chapter 11.6 have been met. 
	7599.25 of Chapter 11.6 have been met. 
	(a) Under the active management, direction and control of the licensee or his or her their 
	manager, a branch office shall have a designated person in charge. The bBureau shall at all times be informed of the name of such person. 
	(b)
	(b)
	(b)
	 Records of all business transacted at a branch office shall be maintained by the licensee and available for inspection by the bBureau. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 A branch office shall be an established place of business and shall maintain reasonable hours for service to its customers. Telephone referral service to a different location does not meet the requirements of this section. 


	Authority cited: Sections 7514, 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7536, 7582.22 and 7599.25, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 624 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 624. Investigative Reports to Customers. 
	Investigative reports shall be submitted to a customer at such times and in such manner as has been agreed upon between the licensee and the customer. Upon demand by the customer, the licensee shall not refuse to divulge to the customer the results of an investigation if payment has been tendered for charges levied. It is the responsibility of the licensee to provide the customer with a fee schedule or a reasonable explanation of the method by which charges to the customer for services are to be calculated 
	Authority cited: Section 7515 Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7539 Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 625 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: 
	$ 625. Definitions. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 For purposes of this article, "licensee" means a private patrol operator or an alarm company operator. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 For purposes of this article, "guard or registrant" means a uniformed employee of a private patrol operator, an alarm agent of an alarm company operator, and any person employed or compensated by a private patrol operator or any lawful business as a security guard and who, in the course of such employment, carries a deadly weapon. 


	Authority cited: Sections 7580.14, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7580.6, 7580.14-and 7590.1, Business and Professions Code 
	Amend Section 625.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 625.1. Application for Registration. 
	a)
	a)
	a)
	 The licensee shall require any employee who is subject to registration to furnish evidence of current registration with the bBureau or, if such evidence is not furnished, to complete an application for registration, provide two sets of classifiable fingerprints and pay the fees specified in Sections 665.5-640 and 641. The licensee shall maintain supplies of application and fingerprint forms as approved by the Director and as provided upon request by the bBureau. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Within three working days after employment of any person subject to registration who is not currently registered, the licensee shall submit to the bBureau the completed application for registration, two sets of classifiable fingerprints and the registration fee. No application is to be submitted if the employee has terminated within the three working days. For purposes of this 


	section "employment" means the date the employee is placed on the payroll. 
	(c) Any person may apply for registration whether or not he is employed at the time of application. 
	Authority cited: Sections 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7580, 7583.9, 7590 and-7593, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 626 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: 
	$ 626. Suspension of Employment. 
	If the Director determines that continued employment of an applicant for registration in his of her their current capacity may present an undue hazard to public safety, the licensee, upon proper notification from the Chief, shall suspend such applicant from employment in that capacity until action to approve or deny the registration has become final. 
	Authority and cited: Sections 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 7583.15, 7598.12 and 7599.61, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 627 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 627. Registration Expiration and Renewal. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 A registration shall expire two years from the date of issuance or on the assigned renewal date. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 At least sixty days prior to the expiration of a registration, a registrant who desires to continue registration shall complete an application for renewal of registration 

	(c)
	(c)
	 The licensee shall obtain renewal forms from the bBureau, and shall provide the opportunity to an employee whose registration will expire at the end of the year to complete a renewal application. The licensee shall submit to the bBureau the completed application and renewal fee at least 30 days prior to the expiration. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 A registrant may obtain renewal forms from the bBureau and may submit the renewal application and fee to the bBureau. 

	e)
	e)
	 The renewed registration shall be for two years and shall expire two years from the date of 


	ssuance or on the assigned renewal date. The amount of the renewal fee shall be fixed by the Director. 
	(f)
	(f)
	(f)
	 In the event a registrant fails to request a renewal of his or her their registration as provided for in this chapter, the registration shall expire as indicated on the registration. If the registration is renewed within 60 days after its expiration, the registrant, as a condition precedent to renewal, shall pay the renewal fee and the delinquency fee. 

	(9)
	(9)
	 If the renewed registration card has not been delivered to the registrant prior to the date of expiration of the prior registration, the registrant may present a copy of his renewal application 


	Bureau of Security and 
	Proposed Language 
	Proposed Language 
	Page 15 of 34

	Investigative Services Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Section 100 
	1/28/2021 
	as evidence of continued registration, for a period not to exceed 90 days after the date of expiration. 
	Authority cited: Sections 7574.05, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. 
	Reference: Sections 7574.11, 7583.20, 7593.11 and 7593.13, Business and Professions 
	Code. 
	Amend Section 628 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as 
	follows: 
	$ 628. Training in Exercising the Powers to Arrest. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 The course of training in the powers to arrest prescribed by the Department of Consumer Affairs pursuant to Sections 7542, and 7583.6 and 7598.1 of the Business and Professions Code consists of successful completion of a course approved by the bBureau in exercising the powers to arrest. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Uniformed employees of private patrol operators and responding alarm agents shall take and successfully complete the training course and examination in the exercise of powers to arrest. An employee must receive a score of 100% on said examination in order to successfully complete said course. 


	The course of training and administration of the examination may be given by a training school approved by the bBureau or by the employer or such uniformed employees provided that such employer has a designated instructor and such instructor is knowledgeable in the powers to arrest as set forth in the Standard Training Manual issued by the bBureau and is able to assist 
	employees who cannot read or write. 
	(c)
	(c)
	(c)
	 A licensee or approved training school which administers the training and examination shall retain the examination results on bBureau-approved answer sheets for a period of not less than two years or until audited by the bBureau, whichever occurs first. A licensee or training facility shall certify under penalty of perjury on the employee's application for registration that such person has successfully completed the training and examination contained in the Standard Training Manual issued by the bBureau. 

	(d)
	(d)
	 No employee may be assigned to work until he or she has they have completed the course referred to in subsection (a). 


	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581, 7583.6 and 7591.2 7596.1, Business and Professions 
	Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.6, 7583.7, 7598.1, and 7598.2, Business and 
	Professions Code; and Section 26030, Penal Code. 
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	Amend Section 629 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 629. Qualifications and Experience for Alarm Company Operators. 
	An applicant for a license as an alarm company operator, or his or her their manager, shall have had at least two years of experience as an alarm company agent or the equivalent thereof as determined by the sChief. 
	Authority cited: Section 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference cited: Section 7590.5, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 630 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 630. Untrue or Misleading Statements by an Alarm Company Operator. 
	"Untrue or misleading statements" include, but are not limited to, a representation by an alarm company operator or agent that: 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 an alarm system is: "Underwriters Laboratory approved or listed" (UL approved or listed) unless the entire system, and not only one or more components, is in fact, UL approved or listed; 

	(b)
	(b)
	 an alarm system is insurance approved, police approved or approved by the Department of Defense, unless in fact such approval has been obtained in writing 


	Authority cited: Section 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7599.55, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 631.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 631.1. Possession of a Firearms Permit. 
	A firearms permit holder must carry his or her valid Bureau-issued firearms permit on his or her their person while carrying a firearm in the course of his or her their duties. The permit must be shown to any peace officer or Bureau representative upon demand. 
	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.3 and 7597.1, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 632 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 632. Firearms Qualification Card. 
	(a)
	(a)
	(a)
	 The bBureau shall issue a firearms qualification card to an applicant where all of the following conditions exist: 

	(1)
	(1)
	 The applicant is a licensed private investigator, alarm company operator, private patrol operator or registered employee of such a licensee or is employed or compensated by a lawful business or public agency as a security guard or patrolperson; 

	(2)
	(2)
	 The applicant has filed with the bBureau a completed application for a firearms qualification card on a form prescribed by the bBureau, dated and signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury that the information in the application is true and 


	correct; 
	(3)
	(3)
	(3)
	 The application is accompanied by: 

	(A)
	(A)
	(A)
	 Payment of the firearms qualification fee prescribed by Sections 639, 640 and 641 655.5. 

	(B) Proof, satisfactory to the bBureau, of successful completion of a course approved by the bBureau in the carrying and use of a firearm. Including: 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Proof of successful passage of a written examination prescribed by the bBureau. Such examination shall be based on information required to be taught pursuant to Section 697 635; and 

	2.
	2.
	 Proof of qualifying on an approved firearm range with the caliber of weapon to be used by the applicant pursuant to Section 694 635. 



	(4)
	(4)
	 The bBureau has determined, after investigation, that the carrying and use of a firearm by the applicant in the course of his or her their duties presents no apparent threat to the public safety 

	(b)
	(b)
	 The firearms qualification card, when issued, shall be mailed to the applicant at the address which appears on the application. In the event of the loss or destruction of the card the cardholder may apply to the Chief for a certified replacement for the card, stating the circumstances surrounding the loss, and pay a $2.00 certification fee the replacement fee set forth by Sections 7570, 7588, and 7599.70 of the Code whereupon the Chief shall issue a certified replacement for such card. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 A firearms qualification card does not authorize the holder thereof to carry a concealed weapon as that term is defined in Penal Code Section 12050. 
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	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.12, 7596.3, 7580-and 7599.40, Business and Professions Code: and Sections 12031, 12033 and 12050, Penal Code. 
	Amend Section 634 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 634. Records of Firearms. 
	Pursuant to Business and Profession Code Section 7583.2 of the Code, the required firearm records shall contain the following information: make, model and serial number of the firearm or a description of any other deadly weapon, the name of the person who has title of ownership, the name of each person authorized to possess a firearm, or other deadly weapon and evidence that such person is proficient in the use of the particular caliber of firearm or the 
	particular deadly weapon which the person carries, uses or possesses. Such records shall be retained for a period of not less than two years. All such records shall be available for inspection by the bBureau at the licensee's principal place of business and copies shall be submitted to the bBureau upon request. 
	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.32, 7596.7 and 7599.40, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 635 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 635. Course of Firearm Training. 
	(a) Each applicant for an initial firearms permit shall complete classroom training related to the use of firearms, as outlined below, and complete and successfully pass an examination. Classroom training shall be conducted through traditional classroom instruction by a Bureau-
	approved Firearms Training Instructor at a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Facility. The following outline includes the minimum subjects which shall be taught and the minimum length of time which shall be devoted to each subject. Classroom training shall be completed before 
	range training and before any attempt at range qualification. 
	FIREARMS TRAINING OUTLINE Recommended Instruction Sequence 
	Subject and Objective 
	Subject and Objective 
	Length of Time

	I. Registration (Classroom) 
	A. Administration. 1/2 hour 
	Bureau of Security and 
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	Objective: to enroll individual in course. 
	1. Check individual identification 
	. Check individual's Bureau registration status 3. 
	Course admission and discussion 
	B. Laws and regulations for issuing a firearms permit. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the laws, 
	B. Laws and regulations for issuing a firearms permit. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the laws, 
	1/2 hour

	regulations, other requirements, and the administrative process for ssuing a firearms permit and renewals. Il. Moral and Legal Aspects (Classroom) 
	A. Laws regarding possession and carrying of firearms. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the applicable laws relating to the possession and carrying of firearms while working as an armed security guard. 1/2 hour 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Penal Code sections 

	2.
	2.
	 Government Code sections 

	3.
	3.
	 Bureau statutes and regulations 

	4.
	4.
	 Instructor examples 


	B. Laws and standards regarding use of deadly force. 
	Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the meaning of deadly force, the standards for using deadly force, the applicable laws relating to the use of deadly force and the consequences of not properly using deadly force or violating the standards and requirements 
	2 hours
	for use of a weapon. 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Penal Code sections 

	2.
	2.
	 Government Code sections 

	3.
	3.
	 Bureau statutes and regulations . Instructor examples 


	C. Avoidance of deadly force - The de-escalation of force. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the role of the 
	C. Avoidance of deadly force - The de-escalation of force. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the role of the 
	2 hours

	firearms permit holder, the role that deadly force may play and when and how to de-escalate the use of deadly force. 
	D. Shooting incidents. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on what is likely to 
	1 hour
	happen in a shooting incident and how a firearms permit holder should act to minimize the use of deadly force 
	E. Effects of firearms use Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on how and why bullets 1/2 hour 
	travel and what implications this has on the use of deadly force. Ill. Firearms Nomenclature, Maintenance (Classroom) 
	A. The revolver and semi-automatic, ammunition, parts and nomenclature. 1 hour Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the principles and operation of weapons, the differences between weapons and how to 
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	care for a weapon. 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Picture of revolver and semi-automatic with parts identified 

	2.
	2.
	 Revolver and semi-automatic, parts and description 

	3.
	3.
	 Picture of ammunition with parts identified 

	4.
	4.
	 Ammunition parts and description 


	B. Firearms safety, general. Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on how to safely fire, wear and store the weapon while on the firing range, or on duty or off 
	duty. 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 General safety rules 

	2.
	2.
	 Specific safety rules 

	3.
	3.
	 Safety at home and off duty 

	4.
	4.
	 Transporting the weapon to the range 

	5.
	5.
	 Carrying the weapon on duty 1 hour

	6.
	6.
	 Suggested eye and ear protective equipment. 

	7.
	7.
	7.
	 Inspection, cleaning, and maintenance 

	a.
	a.
	a.
	 General information 

	b.
	b.
	 Inspection 

	c.
	c.
	 Cleaning 

	d.
	d.
	 Cleaning kit 

	e.
	e.
	 To clean the weapon 

	f.
	f.
	 Check list 




	IV. Weapon Handling and Shooting Fundamentals. 
	Objective: to familiarize and instruct individual on the fundamentals of marksmanship and the handling of weapons. 
	A. Weapon fundamentals, general differences between handguns 
	B. Loading/Unloading 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Proper loading procedures 

	2.
	2.
	 Proper loading procedures (right handed) 

	3.
	3.
	 Proper unloading procedures (right handed) 

	4.
	4.
	 Proper loading procedures (left handed) 

	5.
	5.
	 Proper unloading procedures (left handed) 


	1 hour
	6. Loading devices 
	C. Proper positions 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Point shoulder position 

	2.
	2.
	 Standing, barricade or supported position 

	3.
	3.
	 Kneeling position 

	4.
	4.
	 Sitting position 

	5.
	5.
	 Prone position 

	6.
	6.
	 Cover and concealment 

	7.
	7.
	 Bouncing bullets 
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	D. Grip 
	1. Two-handed grip 
	E. The draw 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 General information 

	2.
	2.
	 The holster and the draw 


	F. Shooting Fundamentals 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Sight alignment 

	2.
	2.
	2.
	 Trigger squeeze (control) 

	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Single action 

	b.
	b.
	 Double action 

	c.
	c.
	 Count your shots 

	d.
	d.
	 Anticipation 

	e.
	e.
	 Dry firing 



	3.
	3.
	 Establishing the Dominant Eye 


	V. Examination 1 hour 
	(b) In addition to completing and successfully passing an examination related to the use of firearms, each applicant for an initial firearms permit shall complete range training as outlined below. Range training shall be conducted by a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Instructor at a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Facility. 
	Range Training Outline 
	VI. Range Preparation (Classroom). Objective: individual will review range safety and the fundamentals of 
	marksmanship and deployment of weapons. In addition, the individual will review requirements for the use of deadly force. 
	A. Range location 
	1 hour
	B. Equipment needed 
	C. Course of fire (explanation) 
	D. Targets, scoring explanation 
	E. Range commands (explanation) 
	F. Use of deadly force 
	VII. Range Training. Objective: to instruct individual in the safe and accurate use of a firearm until 
	such time as the individual demonstrates to the instructor that he or or she they can safely draw and fire the weapon and has a high likelihood of passing the 
	As needed
	As needed
	qualification course. 

	A. Instructions 
	B. Drawing and holstering practice 
	C. Dry firing 
	C. Dry firing 
	D. Loading and reloading procedures 

	Bureau of Security and 
	Bureau of Security and 
	Bureau of Security and 
	Proposed Language 
	Page 22 of 34 

	Investigative Services 
	Investigative Services 

	Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Section 100 
	1/28/2021 


	(c) After completing both classroom-based firearms training and range training, each applicant for an initial firearms permit shall complete range qualification. The applicant's initial range qualification shall only be completed by firing live ammunition and shall not be completed with a firearm simulator. The applicant must complete each range qualification with the same caliber of weapon that will be listed on the firearms permit and carried by the permit holder while on duty. If the applicant seeks to q
	firearms permit. Each Range qualification shall be conducted by a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Instructor at a Bureau-approved Firearms Training Facility. 
	VIII. Range Qualification. 
	Objective: individual shall pass firearms qualification based on his or her their demonstrated use of weapon. 
	A. Course of fire. Each individual shall discharge 50 rounds a minimum of 2 times according to the following schedule: (All stages are unsupported.) 
	Stage 1 
	Stage 1 
	Stage 1 
	15 yards 
	6 rounds in 30 seconds *6 standing position 

	TR
	14 rounds in 45 seconds 

	Stage 2 
	Stage 2 
	7 yards 
	(includes 2 reloads) (load 6,6 and 2) *6 standing position 

	Stage 3 
	Stage 3 
	7 yards 
	*8 kneeling position 6 rounds in 10 seconds (any position) 

	TR
	12 rounds in 25 seconds 

	Stage 4 
	Stage 4 
	7 yards 
	(includes reload) (load 6 and 6) 6 strong hand unsupported 

	TR
	(reload and switch hands) 

	TR
	*6 weak hand unsupported 

	Stage 5 
	Stage 5 
	5 yards 
	6 rounds *3 rounds in 4 seconds (2 stages) 

	Stage 6 
	Stage 6 
	3 yards 
	6 rounds *2 rounds in 3 seconds (3 stages) 


	3. Scoring. The first course of 50 rounds discharged shall be considered practice. The second course of 50 rounds discharged shall be used for scoring 
	1. Silhouette targets shall be used. A 5 point score shall be granted for each 
	round discharged inside of the seven (7) ring (center mass) as specified in Section 635.1. 
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	2.
	2.
	2.
	 Each individual shall qualify with an 80% score (200 out of 250 points) on the scoring segment. 

	3.
	3.
	 Each individual shall be informed whether his or her their score passes or fails. 


	(d) A Bureau-approved Firearms Training Instructor conducting the range qualification must certify under penalty of perjury that an initial firearms permit applicant completed the required range qualification using live ammunition and provide a signed copy of the qualification documentation to the applicant. 
	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581, 7585, 7585.6 and 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.22, 7583.23, 7583.37, 7596, 7596.3 and 7599.40, Business and Professions Code. 
	Amend Section 636 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 636. Course Approval. 
	(a) Institutions, firms, or persons wishing approval of the bBureau to offer a course in the 
	carrying and usage of firearms must apply in writing to the bBureau and include the following information: 
	(1)
	(1)
	(1)
	 A detailed outline of the course. 

	(2)
	(2)
	 the name of the instructor and a description of his or her their qualifications, and 

	(3)
	(3)
	 places and dates where the course will be offered, length of the course, and an estimate of the maximum number of persons who will take the course. 

	(b)
	(b)
	 Such information must be supplied to the Bureau at least two months before the course is to be given. A course will not be approved that enrolls students prior to approval by the Bureau. 

	(c)
	(c)
	 Approval of a course may be withdrawn by the Bureau in writing. 


	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591,2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7585.4, 7585.5, 7585.6 and 7585.7, Business and Professions Code. 
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	Amend Section 637 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 637. Suspension or Revocation. 
	Any use of a firearm by a holder of a Firearms Qualification Card which is in violation of law or in knowing violation of the standards for carrying and usage of firearms as taught in the course of training in the carrying and use of firearms may be grounds for suspension or revocation of the holder's Firearms Qualification Card 
	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.27591.6, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7561.1, 7587.1 and 7599.61, Business and Professions Code 
	Amend Section 637.1 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 637.1. Definition. 
	For purposes of this article, "registered employee" means any person who is required by the bBureau's regulations to be registered with the bBureau or who is required to complete courses of training in powers to arrest and in the carrying and use of firearms as a condition of becoming eligible to carry a deadly weapon-pursuant to Penal Code Section 12031(d) 
	Authority cited: Sections 7515, 7581 and 7591.2 7591.6, Business and Professions Code; Sections 12031, 12033, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 7542, 7583.22 and 7596, Business and Professions Code, and Sections 12031, 12033, Penal Code. 
	Amend Section 643 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 643. Skills Training Course for Security Guards. 
	(a) The course of skills training for registered security guards shall follow the standards prescribed by section 7583.6(b) of the Business and Professions Code. The attached Appendix sets forth the subjects that shall be taught and the maximum number of hours that 
	shall be allowed towards meeting required training. 
	(b) For each course, or series of courses, the institution or company providing the training shall issue a Certificate of Completion to the individual completing the course. The certificate shall identify the course(s) taken, the number of hours of training provided, identification of the issuing entity, name of the individual and instructor and a date, and state that the course(s) comply with the Department of Consumer Affairs' Skills Training Course for Security Guards. 
	The certificate shall be serially numbered for tracking. 
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	Authority cited: Section 7581, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7583.6 and 7583.7, Business and Professions Code. 
	Appendix 
	1. Power to Arrest Course Outline 
	The Power to Arrest Course consists of four (4) hours of training in both of the following two (2) subjects: 
	A. Powers to Arrest- 4 hours 
	Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual on the training topics delineated at Business and Professions Code section 7583.7, including, without limitation, legal aspects, techniques, liability, and company requirements relating to the arrest of an individual. The training will utilize the Department of Consumer Affairs' Power to Arrest Training Manual and may include lecture, discussion, exercises and role-playing. 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Overview of Power to Arrest Manual and subject matter. 

	2.
	2.
	 Definition of arrest and discussion on the implications to the subject, the guard and the company. 

	3.
	3.
	 Lecture/discussion on escalation and de-escalation techniques in the use of force. 

	4.
	4.
	 Lecture/discussion in the use of restraint techniques and their implications. 

	5.
	5.
	 Discussion of trespass laws and implications of enforcement. 

	6.
	6.
	 Completion of the Power to Arrest Training Manual Test with 100% score in accordance with the Manual's Administering Instructions. 


	B. Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) & Terrorism Awareness- 4 hours 
	Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual on the subject matter and observation skills required to identify and report precursor activities to a terrorist event, react appropriately, report the occurrence of a terrorist event, and remain safe while helping control the scene after a terrorist event. The training will utilize the Department of Consumer Affairs' Weapons of Mass Destruction & Terrorism Awareness for Security Professionals course consisting of a Digital Video Disk (DVD), Student Work
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Introduction and overview of training. 

	2.
	2.
	 The Role of a Security Officer 

	3.
	3.
	 The Nature of Terrorism. 

	4.
	4.
	 Weapons of Mass Destruction. 

	5.
	5.
	 Coordinating and Sharing of Critical Information 
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	Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual in basic skills and provide a common body of knowledge in the performance of security guard work. All courses shall include information and subject matter pertaining to the outline provided. Additionally, all courses shall include written material, lecture or exercises to assure that the individual comprehends the subject matter presented. Every newly licensed or employed security guard shall complete two of the mandatory courses within thirty (30) days 
	security guard. Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 7583.6(b) of the Code, the following outline includes subjects that shall be taught and the maximum number of hours that will be allowed for completion of the Mandatory Courses. 
	A. Public Relations (Community & Customer)- 4 hours 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Recognizing Gender & Racial Harassment & Discrimination 

	2.
	2.
	 Respect: 


	Stereotyping Attitude 
	3.
	3.
	3.
	 Verbal Skills / Crisis Intervention 

	4.
	4.
	 Introduction to Diversity 

	5.
	5.
	 Substance Abuse & Mental Illness 

	6.
	6.
	 Ethics & Professionalism Appearance 


	Command Presence . Proper Conduct 
	B. Observation & Documentation- 4 hours 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Report Writing 

	2.
	2.
	 English as a Second Language 

	3.
	3.
	 Observation and Patrol Techniques 

	4.
	4.
	 Asking Appropriate Questions 

	5.
	5.
	 Observing Suspects/Suspicious Activity 


	C. Communication and its Significance- 4 hours 
	1. Internal Protocols Pursuant to Contract (Who to Contact & When) Radio / Monitors 
	. Other Technology 
	2. External Emergency/First Responders 
	Medical Personnel . Police / Sheriff / Other Enforcement City Services / Government Services 
	D. Liability / Legal Aspects- 4 hours 
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	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Personal / Contractor / Employer 

	2.
	2.
	 Criminal, Civil, Administrative 

	3.
	3.
	 BSIS Code & Regulations 

	4.
	4.
	 Role of a Security Guard 


	Ill. Elective Course Outlines 
	Objective: To familiarize and instruct the individual in basic employer requirements relating to 
	the performance of guard duties. Additionally, to provide the employer and the individual with the opportunity to select additional course work to improve the skills and knowledge of the individual. The listed courses should include a mixture of written materials, lecture and exercises. The hours listed are the maximum number of hours that will be accepted as part of the 16 hours of elective training mandated by the Business and Professions Code section 
	Section 7583.6 of the Code. Every newly licensed security guard shall complete a minimum of eight (8) hours of elective courses within thirty (30) days from the day the security guard's registration card is issued or the day the guard begins employment. An additional eight (8) hours of elective courses shall be completed within the first six (6) months from the day the security guard's registration card is issued or the day the guard begins employment. Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 7583.
	A. Post Orders & Assignments- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Site Specific Training 

	2.
	2.
	 Equipment Monitoring Communication 


	. Alarms Elevators, Etc. 
	3.
	3.
	3.
	 Emergency Response Issues 

	4.
	4.
	 Liability Implications 

	5.
	5.
	 Lost / Found Articles 


	B. Employer Policies / Orientation- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Employer Reports / Paperwork 

	2.
	2.
	 Reporting Processes / Procedures 

	3.
	3.
	 Tax Forms, Health Forms, Etc. 

	4.
	4.
	 Uniforms 

	5.
	5.
	 Work Schedules 

	6.
	6.
	 Other Internal Policies, Processes or Procedures 

	7.
	7.
	 Employer Use of Force Policy 


	C. Evacuation Procedures- 2 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Emergency Procedures Related to Life, Safety and Acts of Nature 

	2.
	2.
	 Working Knowledge of Evacuation Routes 
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	Stairs Elevators Doors 
	3.
	3.
	3.
	 Power Outage 

	4.
	4.
	 Specific Points of Contact 


	D. Officer Safety- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Threat Assessment 

	2.
	2.
	 Subject Contact 

	3.
	3.
	 Safety Awareness 

	4.
	4.
	 Blood Born Pathogens 

	5.
	5.
	 Environmental/Hazardous Materials 


	E. Arrests, Search & Seizure (more advanced than PTA course)- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 PC 836, 837 & the Differences 

	2.
	2.
	 US Constitution & Amendments Impacting Guard Responsibilities 

	3.
	3.
	 Loss Prevention 

	4.
	4.
	 Merchant Law 

	5.
	5.
	 Use of Force 


	F. Access Control- 2 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Identification Procedures 

	2.
	2.
	 Electronic Use/CCTV 

	3.
	3.
	 Non-electronic procedures 


	G. Trespass- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Open Land 

	2.
	2.
	 Private Property 

	3.
	3.
	 Private Building 

	4.
	4.
	 Public Property 

	5.
	5.
	 Places of Public Accommodation/Public Access 


	H. Laws, Codes, Regulations and Ordinances- 2 Hrs. Maximum 
	1. Specific to Post Assignment 
	I. First Aid / CPR- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 American Red Cross 

	2.
	2.
	 American Heart Association Courses 

	3.
	3.
	 Automatic Defibrillator Devices (AED's) 


	J. Handling Difficult People- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Communications 

	2.
	2.
	 Conflict Management 

	3.
	3.
	 Speaking Constructively 

	4.
	4.
	 Valuing Diversity 
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	5.
	5.
	5.
	 Negotiating 

	6.
	6.
	 Verbal Diffusion 


	K. Work Place Violence- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1. Detecting Unusual Behavior/Warning Signs 
	Worker to Worker Client to Customer Supervisor to Subordinate 
	2.
	2.
	2.
	 Anger Management 

	3.
	3.
	 Valuing Diversity 

	4.
	4.
	 Personal Security 

	5.
	5.
	 Reporting 


	L. Chemical Agents- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Tear Gas Use and Effects 

	2.
	2.
	 Pepper Spray Use and Effects 

	3.
	3.
	 Air Borne Chemical Agents 

	4.
	4.
	 Water Borne Chemical Agents 


	M. Preserving the Incident Scene- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Identifying Evidence 

	2.
	2.
	 Care and Handling of Evidence 

	3.
	3.
	 Securing the Immediate Area 

	4.
	4.
	 Legal Issues to Evidence Tampering and/or Removal 

	5.
	5.
	 Witness/Participant Identification 


	N. Crowd Control- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Controlling Boisterous Celebrations 

	2.
	2.
	 Handling Disputes 

	3.
	3.
	 Confronting Conflicts Constructively 

	4.
	4.
	 Planning for Civil Disobedience/Disturbances 

	5.
	5.
	 Labor Actions, Disputes, Workplace Stoppages 


	O. Driver Safety- 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Cars 

	2.
	2.
	 Bicycles 

	3.
	3.
	 Golf Carts 


	P. Supervision 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Roles and Responsibilities 

	2.
	2.
	 Legal Liability 


	Q. Courtroom Demeanor 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	R. Parking / Traffic Control 2 Hrs. Maximum 
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	S. Radio Procedures 2 Hrs. Maximum 
	T. BSIS's Certified Course in Firearms Training 8 Hrs. Maximum 
	U. BSIS's Certified Course in Baton Training 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	V. School Security Guard Training 8 Hrs. Maximum (In compliance with Bureau developed Training Syllabus) 
	W. Introduction to Executive Protection 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	X. Annual Firearms Requalification 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	Y. Fire Safety Course 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	Z. Course in the Use of a Stun Gun or Air Taser 4 Hrs. Maximum 
	IV. Continuing Education 
	Objective: To provide additional or remedial instruction in private security subject matter. The continuing education requirement, of an additional 8 hours annually pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 7583.6 (f)(1) (e) of the Code, commenced on January 5, 2005. The 
	annual training may be provided by an independent training entity or may be provided by the employer. Employer provided training must be supported by evaluation of the licensed guards' skills. The annual training may repeat previous course(s) or may provide additional course(s) 
	on topics applicable to private security work. The Mandatory and Elective courses with 4 hour maximum time limitations for the initial Skills Training Course For Security Guards may be expanded in depth to 8 hour courses, with the exception of the WMD and Terrorism Awareness, to meet the annual training hours. Additionally, training in use of specific types of batons or a four (4) hour refresher course every other year may also be utilized to meet the continuing education requirements. For each course compl
	Amend Section 645 of Division 7 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations as follows: 
	$ 645. Skills Training Course for Proprietary Private Security Officers. 
	(a) The course for Proprietary Private Security Officers shall follow the standards prescribed by sSection 7574.18 of the Business and Professions Code. The following sections set forth the subjects that shall be taught and the minimum number of hours to meet the required training. 
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	b) For each course, or series of courses, the institution or company providing the training shall issue a Certificate of Completion to the individual completing the course. The certificate shall identify the type of course(s) taken, the number of hours of training provided, identification of the issuing entity, name of the individual taking the course, the instructor administering the course, and the date the course(s) was administered and completed. The Certificate of 
	Completion must also state that the course(s) comply with the Department of Consumer Affairs' Skills Training Course for Proprietary Private Security Officers. The certificate shall be serially numbered for tracking purposes. 
	(c) The Power to Arrest section of the course shall consist of a minimum of four hours of training. Two hours shall consist of Power to Arrest training. The training shall utilize the Department of Consumer Affairs' Power to Arrest Training Manual and may include lecture, discussion, exercises and roleplaying. The additional two hours shall consist of the Department 
	of Consumer Affairs' Weapons of Mass Destruction and Terrorism Awareness Training for Security Professionals. The course consists of a Digital Video Disc (DVD) and a Compact Disc (CD) containing the Facilitator Guide and Student Workbook. 
	A minimum of 12 hours must be spent covering the courses listed under sections II through VI of subsection (d). The complete course of training shall consist of a minimum of 16 hours and shall be completed within the first six months from either the date of employment or date of ssuance of the proprietary private security officer's registration. 'd) Proprietary Private Security Officer Training Courses I thru VI 
	I. POWER TO ARREST: 
	A. Overview and Origin of Authority to Detain and Arrest- 2 Hour Minimum 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Overview and Origin of Authority to Detain and Arrest 

	2.
	2.
	 Definition of a Detention 

	3.
	3.
	 Definition of an Arrest 

	4.
	4.
	 What is a Private Citizen's Arrest 

	5.
	5.
	 Use of Force 


	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Legal 

	b.
	b.
	 Employer Policy 


	6. Search and Seizure 
	a.
	a.
	a.
	 4th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution 

	b.
	b.
	 Acting as a Law Enforcement Agent 

	c.
	c.
	 Discovering Contraband 


	7. Definition of Private/Public Property 
	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Jurisdiction 

	b.
	b.
	 Trespass 

	B.
	B.
	 Terrorism Awareness Weapons of Mass Destruction Training for Security Professionals- 2 Hour Minimum 


	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Introduction and Overview of the Training 

	2.
	2.
	 The Role of a Security Officer 

	3.
	3.
	 The Nature of Terrorism 

	4.
	4.
	 Weapons of Mass Destruction 

	5.
	5.
	 Coordinating and Sharing of Critical Information 


	Bureau of Security and 
	Bureau of Security and 
	Bureau of Security and 
	Proposed Language 
	Page 32 of 34 

	Investigative Services 
	Investigative Services 

	Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Division 7, Title 16 CCR 
	Section 100 
	1/28/2021 


	Sections II through VI- 12 Hour Minimum 
	II. ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
	1. Definition of Proprietary 
	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Employed by Company 

	b.
	b.
	 Distinctive Uniform 

	c.
	c.
	 Unarmed 

	d.
	d.
	 Interact with Public 


	2. General 
	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Private Citizen 

	b.
	b.
	 Authority Originates from Company 

	c.
	c.
	 Service Oriented 

	d.
	d.
	 Employer Specific Policy 


	III. PUBLIC AND EMPLOYER EXPECTATIONS 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Ethics 

	2.
	2.
	 Professionalism 

	3.
	3.
	 Job Conduct 

	4.
	4.
	 Cultural Awareness 

	5.
	5.
	 Sexual Harassment 


	IV. LIABILITY ISSUES 
	1. Overview of Civil Law, Criminal Law and Torts 
	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Personal 

	b.
	b.
	 Employer 


	2.
	2.
	2.
	 Bureau of Security and Investigative Services Laws and Regulations 

	3.
	3.
	 Explanation of a Duty to Care 


	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Reasonable Expectation for a "Safe Environment" 

	b.
	b.
	 Employer Specific 


	4.
	4.
	4.
	 Explanation of Negligence 

	5.
	5.
	 Examples of Common Liabilities 

	6.
	6.
	 Accurate Reporting/Documentation 


	V. COMMUNICATION/CONFLICT MANAGEMENT 
	1. Interpersonal Communications Skills 
	a.
	a.
	a.
	 Approach 

	b.
	b.
	 Body Language 

	c.
	c.
	 Listening 

	d.
	d.
	 Empathy. 


	2. Situational Awareness 
	a. Environment 
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	b.
	b.
	b.
	 Positioning 

	c.
	c.
	 Subjects 


	3.
	3.
	3.
	 Managing Disputes 

	4.
	4.
	 Diffusing/De-escalation of Situations 

	5.
	5.
	 Reacting to Violent Incidents 


	a.
	a.
	a.
	 lypes 

	b.
	b.
	 Law Enforcement Notification 


	VI. EMERGENCY PROCEDURES 
	1.
	1.
	1.
	 Emergencies Related to Acts of Nature 

	2.
	2.
	 Emergencies Related to Acts of Persons 

	3.
	3.
	 Overview of Public Expectation during an Emergency 

	4.
	4.
	 Explanation of Emergency Plans 

	5.
	5.
	 Explanation of Emergency Evacuation Plans 


	I. Total hours 16 Hour Minimum 
	(e). CONTINUED EDUCATION 2 Hour Minimum 
	OBJECTIVE: To provide additional or remedial instruction in proprietary private security subject matter. The annual continuing education requirement in Business and Professions Code-Section 7574.18 of the Code shall be two hours. The annual training shall be provided by the employer. The employer may administer the training in-house or it may be administered by an independent training entity. The annual training may be a repeat of a previous course if the employer's evaluation shows that the employee is def
	Authority cited: Section 7574.05, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 7574.18, Business and Professions Code. 
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